James Spader
Director: David Cronenberg Cast: James Spader
James Spader
, Holly Hunter
Holly Hunter
, Elias Koteas
Elias Koteas
David Cronenberg

DVD (Special Edition / Wide Screen / Restored / Subtitled)

$27.46 $29.99 Save 8% Current price is $27.46, Original price is $29.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on December 1, 2020


After surviving a brutal car wreck, commercial director James Ballard finds himself slowly drawn to a mysterious subculture of people who have transformed automobile accidents into erotic events. Like the J.G. Ballard novel that inspired it, David Cronenberg's study of the sexual dimension of man's relationship to technology was a magnet for controversy, drawing a NC-17 rating and criticism from several sources, including studio owner Ted Turner, who attempted to prevent the film's American release. But though some have leveled charges of pornography, James' descent into this fetishistic underworld is approached with cold, scientific detachment. Characters like Vaughn, the charismatic group leader who stages recreations of celebrity car crashes, seem more like driven researchers than sexual renegades, which is undoubtedly part of the film's point. This impression is reinforced by the pristine cinematography by Peter Suschitzsky, which proves particularly haunting during a crucial accident scene, and Howard Shore's superb score. Far from exploitative, Crash in fact proves less transgressive than the original novel, but is still undoubtedly not for all tastes.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/01/2020
UPC: 0715515253710
Original Release: 1996
Rating: NC-17
Source: Criterion
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 6,412

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Spader James Ballard
Holly Hunter Dr. Helen Remington
Elias Koteas Vaughan
Deborah Kara Unger Mrs. Catherine Ballard
Rosanna Arquette Gabrielle
Peter MacNeill Colin Seagrave

Technical Credits
David Cronenberg Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Chris Auty Executive Producer
Tom Bjelic Sound Editor
Deirdre Bowen Casting
Christopher Cooke Sound/Sound Designer
Christian Cooke Sound/Sound Designer
Denise Cronenberg Costumes/Costume Designer
David Lee Sound/Sound Designer
Tamara Deverell Art Director
Elinor Rose Galbraith Set Decoration/Design
Andras Hamori Executive Producer
John Laing Sound Editor
Robert Lantos Executive Producer
Andy Malcolm Sound Editor
Dino Pigat Sound/Sound Designer
Stéphane Reichel Co-producer
Ronald Sanders Editor
Dale Sheldrake Sound Editor
Howard Shore Score Composer,Songwriter
John Douglas Smith Sound/Sound Designer
Lou Solakofski Sound/Sound Designer
Carol Spier Production Designer
Marilyn Stonehouse Co-producer
Peter Suschitzky Cinematographer
Orest Sushko Sound/Sound Designer
Jeremy Thomas Executive Producer
Tony van den Akker Sound/Sound Designer
David J. Webb Asst. Director

Customer Reviews