Cotton Comes to Harlem

Cotton Comes to Harlem

Godfrey Cambridge
Director: Ossie Davis Cast: Godfrey Cambridge
Godfrey Cambridge
, Raymond St. Jacques
Raymond St. Jacques
, Calvin Lockhart
Calvin Lockhart
Ossie Davis


$10.91 $11.99 Save 9% Current price is $10.91, Original price is $11.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Ossie Davis makes his directorial debut a smashing success in the trend-setting action crime comedy Cotton Comes To Harlem. Coffin Ed (Raymond St. Jacques) and Grave Digger Jones (Godfrey Cambridge), two plainclothesmen on the Harlem detail, are assigned to investigate the goings-on of suspicious local preacher Deke O'Malley (Calvin Lockhart), whose "Back to Africa" political movement turns out to be a scam to bilk the community of their hard-earned cash, with the scam-money hidden in a bale of cotton.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2014
UPC: 0738329138325
Original Release: 1970
Rating: R
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:37:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Godfrey Cambridge Grave Digger Jones
Raymond St. Jacques Coffin Ed Johnson
Calvin Lockhart Rev. Deke O'Malley
Judy Pace Iris
Redd Foxx Uncle Bud
John Anderson Bryce
Emily Yancy Mabel
J.D. Cannon Calhoun
Mabel Robinson Billie
Eugene Roche Anderson
Frederick O'Neal Casper
Gene Lindsey Luddy
Van Kirksey Early Riser
Cleavon Little Lo Boy
Helen Martin Church Sister
Turk Turpin Dum Dum
Tommy Lane "44"
Arnold Williams Hi Jenks
Vinnette Carrol Reba
Leo Cimino Tom
Lou Jacobi Goodman
Dick Sabol Jarema
Theodore Wilson Barry

Technical Credits
Ossie Davis Director,Songwriter,Screenwriter
John Carter Editor
Robert Drumheller Set Decoration/Design
Emanuel Gerard Art Director
Manny Gerard Art Director
Samuel Goldwyn Producer
Gerald Hirschfeld Cinematographer
Anna Hill Johnstone Costumes/Costume Designer
Max Kleven Stunts
Robert Q. Lovett Editor
Galt MacDermot Score Composer
Arnold Perl Screenwriter
Sol Stern Special Effects

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Cotton Comes to Harlem
1. Chapter I
2. Chapter II
3. Chapter III
4. Chapter IV
5. Chapter V
6. Chapter VI
7. Chapter VII
8. Chapter VIII

Customer Reviews