Command Decision

Command Decision

Clark Gable
Director: Sam Wood Cast: Clark Gable
Clark Gable
, Walter Pidgeon
Walter Pidgeon
, Van Johnson
Van Johnson
Sam Wood

DVD (Full Frame)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Command Decision (1948) is a stagebound but consummately acted adaptation of William Wister Haines' Broadway play. Clark Gable, starring in the role essayed on Broadway by Paul Kelly, plays Air Force Brigadier General "Casey" Dennis. With time at a premium, Dennis sends waves of bomber squadrons into Germany to knock out the enemy's jet plane factories. Though Dennis seems utterly unconcerned about the fate of his pilots (even his superior officer Walter Pidgeon is appalled by the heavy losses), the audience knows that his duty is exacting a severe emotional toll on him. Thanks to pressure from a misguided U.S. senator, "butcher" Dennis is replaced by the supposedly more humane Brian Donlevy. But Donlevy realizes that Gable's decisions were the correct ones, and he vows to continue his predecessor's "suicide missions."

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/2013
UPC: 0883316734476
Original Release: 1948
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:52:00
Sales rank: 992

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Clark Gable Brig. Gen. K.C. "Casey" Dennis
Walter Pidgeon Maj. Gen. Roland G. Kane
Van Johnson Tech. Sgt. Immanuel T. Evans
Brian Donlevy Brig. Gen. Clifton L. Garnet
Charles Bickford Elmer Brockhurst
John Hodiak Col. Edward R. Martin
Edward Arnold Congressman Arthur Malcolm
Richard Quine Maj. George Rockton
Cameron Mitchell Lt. Ansel Goldberg
Clinton Sundberg Maj. Homer V. Prescott
Ray Collins Maj. Desmond Lansing
Warner Anderson Col. Earnest Haley
John McIntire Maj. Belding Davis
Moroni Olsen Congressman Stone
John Ridgely James Carwood
Michael Steele Capt. Lucius M. Jenks
Edward Earle Congressman Watson
Mack Williams Lt. Col. Virgil Jackson
James Millican Maj. Garrett Davenport
Gregg Barton Sergeant
Bruce Cowling Operations Officer
Sam Flint Congressman
Don Haggerty Command Officer
Henry Hall Congressman
Alvin Hammer Sergeant Cahill
Holmes Herbert Chairman
John James Officer
Marten Lamont Officer of R.A.F
William Leicester Chauffeur
Peter Martin Command Sergeant
Barry Nelson Voice over loudspeaker
William "Bill" Phillips Jeep Driver
Marshall Thompson Cap. George Washington Lee
George Offerman Waiter

Technical Credits
Sam Wood Director
Sidney Franklin Producer
George Froeschel Screenwriter
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
William Wister Haines Screenwriter
Harold Kress Editor
William R. Laidlaw Screenwriter
Urie McCleary Art Director
Gottfried Reinhardt Producer
Harold Hal Rosson Cinematographer
Miklós Rózsa Score Composer

Customer Reviews