Comet over Broadway

Comet over Broadway

Director: Busby Berkeley Cast: Kay Francis, Ian Hunter, John Litel


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
3 New & Used Starting at $17.22


Despite the presence of Busby Berkeley in the director's chair, Comet Over Broadway contains nary a single musical number. Instead, the film concentrates on the lachrymose private life of stage star Eve Appleton (Kay Francis). While appearing in amateur theatricals, Eve indirectly causes the death of a fellow actor at the hands of her husband Bill (John Litel). When Bill is thrown into jail, Eve goes on the road, appearing in one cheap stock company after another to earn enough money for her husband's parole. Seven years pass, during which time Eve becomes the toast of Broadway. Falling in love with playwright Bert Ballin (Ian Hunter), Eve almost forgets the reason that she climbed to stardom in the first place, but by the final reel she elects to give up personal happiness to remain loyal to her incarcerated husband. Way, way down the cast list of Comet Over Broadway is Linda Winters, who as Dorothy Comingore achieved stardom in Orson Welles'Citizen Kane (1941).

Product Details

Release Date: 04/03/2018
UPC: 0888574643997
Original Release: 1938
Source: Warner Archives
Sales rank: 45,886

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kay Francis Eve Appleton
Ian Hunter Bert Ballin
John Litel Bill Appleton
Donald Crisp Grant
Minna Gombell Tim Adams
Sybil Jason Jackie
Melville Cooper Emerson
Ian Keith Wilton Banks
Leona Maricle Janet Eaton
Ray Mayer Brogan
Vera Lewis Mrs. Appleton
Nat Carr Haines
Chester Clute Willis
Edward McWade Harvey
Clem Bevans Benson
Jack Mower Hotel Manager
Jack Wise Stage Manager
Fern Barry Actor
Sidney Bracey English Porter
Ray Brown Judge
Dorothy Comingore Miss McDermott
Jimmy Conlin Comic
Lester Dorr Performer
Edgar Edwards Waiter
Mitchell Ingraham Court Clerk
Owen King Actor
Howard Mitchell Court Officer
Frank O'Connor Officer
Frank Orth Cab Driver
Henry Otho Baggage Man
Charles Seel Jury Foreman
Janet Shaw Woman
Edwin Stanley Doctor
Emmett Vogan Prosecutor
Alice Connors Actor
Kay Gordon Actor
Jessie Mae Jackson Chorus Girl
Susan Hayward Amateur Actress

Technical Credits
Busby Berkeley Director
Robert Buckner Screenwriter
Leo F. Forbstein Musical Direction/Supervision
James Gibbon Editor
Mark Hellinger Screenwriter
James Wong Howe Cinematographer
Charles Novi Art Director
Orry-Kelly Costumes/Costume Designer
Heinz Roemheld Score Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews