Black Orpheus

Black Orpheus

Marcel Camus
 Cast: Marcel Camus
Marcel Camus
, Breno Mello
Breno Mello
, Marpessa Dawn
Marpessa Dawn
, Lea Garcia
Lea Garcia


$14.99 $29.99 Save 50% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

We're sorry, international shipping is currently unavailable for this item


Black Orpheus (Orfeu Negro) is literally what its title suggests: a retelling of the "Orpheus and Eurydice" legend enacted by black performers. This time the setting is the annual Carnival in Rio de Janeiro. Orpheus (Breno Mello) is a streetcar conductor; Eurydice (Marpessa Dawn) has just jilted her lover and is attempting to escape his wrath. Orpheus himself falls in love with Eurydice, whereupon her ex-lover, disguised as the Angel of Death shows up and kills Eurydice. To reclaim his lost love, Orpheus enters "Hell" (the Rio morgue) and uses supernatural methods to revive the dead girl. A multi-award winner on the international film scene, Black Orpheus features a samba musical score by Luiz Bonfa and Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/17/2010
UPC: 0715515059213
Original Release: 1959
Rating: NR
Source: Criterion
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:47:00

Special Features

Archival Interviews with Director Marcel Camus and Actress Marpessa Dawn; ; New Video Interviews with Brazilian Cinema Scholar Robert Stam, Jazz Historian Gary Giddins, and Brazilian Author Ruy Castro; ; Looking for "Black Orpheus," a French Documentary about Black Orpheus's cultural and musical roots and its resonance in Brazil today; ; Theatrical Trailer; ; Plus: a Booklet featuring an Essay by Film Critic Michael Atkinson

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Breno Mello Orpheus
Marpessa Dawn Eurydice
Lea Garcia Serafina
Lourdes de Oliveira Mira
Marcel Camus Actor
Adhemar de Silva Death
Waldetar de Souza Chico
Jorge dos Santos Benedito
Fausto Guerzoni Actor
Aurino Cassanio Zeca
Alexandro Constantino Hermes

Technical Credits
Marcel Camus Director,Screenwriter
Luiz Bonfá Score Composer
Jean Bourgoin Cinematographer
Andrée Feix Editor
Sacha Gordine Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim Score Composer
Jacques Viot Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Black Orpheus - The Film
1. Opening Credits [4:09]
2. Eurídice Arrives [3:32]
3. Streetcar Pickup [5:41]
4. "My Name Is Mira" [5:13]
5. Serafina's Visitor [6:55]
6. "Manhã De Carnaval" [8:37]
7. Rehearsal [7:59]
8. Death Finds Eurídice [7:23]
9. Houses In Heaven [5:58]
10. Morning Serenade [3:35]
11. Final Preparations [7:02]
12. Carnival [10:07]
13. The Serpent's Bite [5:33]
14. Ambulance Chaser [9:25]
15. "Don't Look Back" [9:39]
16. Returning With Eurídice [4:34]
17. Making The Sun Rise [2:19]
Disc #2 -- Black Orpheus: The Supplements
1. Black Orpheus [6:08]
2. "Chega de Saudade" [2:12]
3. Bossa Nova [2:19]
4. Music from the Film [2:40]
5. "The Girl from Ipanema" [4:16]
1. Looking for Black Orpheus [6:57]
2. Vinicius de Moraes's Play [8:11]
3. Marcel Camus' Adaptation [9:11]
4. Orpheus and the Favelas [8:34]
5. "Music is Fundamental" [14:17]
6. The Blackness of Brazil [11:52]
7. "Dialogue with the Gods" [15:55]
8. Brazil's Carnival [13:42]

Customer Reviews