Black Orpheus

Black Orpheus

Marcel Camus
 Cast: Marcel Camus
Marcel Camus
, Breno Mello
Breno Mello
, Marpessa Dawn
Marpessa Dawn
, Lea Garcia
Lea Garcia

DVD (Color)

$18.39 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.39, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Black Orpheus (Orfeu Negro) is literally what its title suggests: a retelling of the "Orpheus and Eurydice" legend enacted by black performers. This time the setting is the annual Carnival in Rio de Janeiro. Orpheus (Breno Mello) is a streetcar conductor; Eurydice (Marpessa Dawn) has just jilted her lover and is attempting to escape his wrath. Orpheus himself falls in love with Eurydice, whereupon her ex-lover, disguised as the Angel of Death shows up and kills Eurydice. To reclaim his lost love, Orpheus enters "Hell" (the Rio morgue) and uses supernatural methods to revive the dead girl. A multi-award winner on the international film scene, Black Orpheus features a samba musical score by Luiz Bonfa and Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2009
UPC: 0715515043113
Original Release: 1959
Rating: NR
Source: Criterion
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:47:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Breno Mello Orpheus
Marpessa Dawn Eurydice
Lea Garcia Serafina
Lourdes de Oliveira Mira
Marcel Camus Actor
Adhemar de Silva Death
Waldetar de Souza Chico
Jorge dos Santos Benedito
Fausto Guerzoni Actor
Aurino Cassanio Zeca
Alexandro Constantino Hermes

Technical Credits
Marcel Camus Director,Screenwriter
Luiz Bonfá Score Composer
Jean Bourgoin Cinematographer
Andrée Feix Editor
Sacha Gordine Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim Score Composer
Jacques Viot Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Essential Art House: Black Orpheus
1. Opening Credits [3:48]
2. Eurydice Arrives [3:31]
3. Streetcar Pickup [5:40]
4. One Thousand Years of Love? [5:14]
5. Serafina's Visitor [3:49]
6. Kisses on Account [3:05]
7. "Orpheus Is My Master" [8:39]
8. Death in a Costume [15:20]
9. Houses in Heaven [5:58]
10. Sunrise Serenade [3:35]
11. Identical Cousins [7:02]
12. Cardinal Unravels [10:07]
13. The Serpent's Bite [5:33]
14. Ambulance Chaser [6:49]
15. The Descent [12:14]
16. Dionysian Onslaught [4:34]
17. A New Day [2:17]

Customer Reviews