Black Beauty

Black Beauty

Director: James H. Hill Cast: Mark Lester, Uschi Glas, Walter Slezak

DVD (Wide Screen)

$8.36 $8.99 Save 7% Current price is $8.36, Original price is $8.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


This internationally produced adaptation of Anna Sewell's Black Beauty is essentially a vehicle for Oliver star Mark Lester. The young Lester spends most of the film trying to reclaim his beautiful black horse, which passes through several hands over the course of 90 minutes. All the setpieces of the Sewell original are in attendance, including the showstopping "burning barn" sequence. Walter Slezak is the only truly recognizable actor in the film outside of Lester.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/09/2018
UPC: 0032429296641
Original Release: 1971
Rating: G
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 9,923

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Mark Lester Joe Evans
Uschi Glas Marie
Walter Slezak Hackenschmidt
Peter Lee Lawrence Gervaise
John Nettleton Sir William Piggot
Patrick Mower Sam Greene
Ursula Glas Maria
Eddie Golden Evans
José Nieto Lorent
Vincente Rola Flying Fred
Fernando Bilbao Mungo
Patrick Gardiner O'Flaherty
Clive Geraghty Roger
Johnny Hoey Muldoon
Luis Induni Sergeant
Margaret Lacey Anna Sewell
Daniel Martin Lieutenant
Brian McGrath Mark Beauchamp
Ricardo Palacios Russian General
Maria Rohm Anne Piggot
John Franklyn Coalman

Technical Credits
James H. Hill Director
Pablo Gonzalez del Amo Editor
Peter L. Andrews Producer
Fernando Arribas Cinematographer
Lionel Bart Score Composer
John Cameron Score Composer
Ann Chegwidden Editor
Malcolm Heyworth Producer
Wolf Mankowitz Screenwriter
Chris Menges Cinematographer
Tony Tenser Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Black Beauty
1. "My Black Beauty" [7:46]
2. The Hunt [4:59]
3. New Squire [6:56]
4. No More Good Will [7:32]
5. Great Life Of A Gentleman [6:54]
6. Muldoon And O'Flaherty [7:36]
7. A Stray [5:42]
8. The Circus Hackenschmidt [8:00]
9. Foul Play [7:41]
10. Sir William Steps In [7:44]
11. Gift From The Continent [5:28]
12. English Satisfaction [8:01]
13. Courage In India [7:35]
14. Silver For The War Hero [8:59]
15. A Grand Old Horse [4:55]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews