Director: Hype Williams Cast: Nas
, Taral Hicks
Taral Hicks
Hype Williams

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Music video director Hype Williams made his feature film debut with this visually inventive urban drama. Tommy Brown (DMX) and his friend Sincere (Nas) are gangsters who have learned how to make a good living by dealing drugs and pulling armed robberies. Tommy and Sincere have been able to move out of the ghetto in Queens where they were raised and relocate to an upscale section of Manhattan; they would seem to have it made, but both realize that their lives are headed toward a dead end. Sincere begins getting in touch with his African roots and tries to convince his girlfriend Tionne (Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins) that they should emigrate to the Motherland, while Tommy has a religious awakening and joins the Nation of Islam. Along with top-selling rappers DMX and Nas, hip-hop artist Method Man and R&B singer Taral Hicks also appear.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/20/2004
UPC: 0012236148258
Original Release: 1998
Rating: R
Source: Lions Gate
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:45:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; 16 x 9 newly remastered feature; English 5.1 DTS-ES; English 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround EX; English 2.0 Dolby Surround; Director's commentary; Multiple spoken word featurettes; "Grand Finale" music video - DMX, Method Man, Nas, & Ja Rule; Deleted scene; Trailer gallery; Interactive menus; Spanish subtitles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Nas Sincere
DMX Tommy Brown
Taral Hicks Kisha
Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins Tionne
Method Man Shameek
Hassan Johnson Mark
Louie Rankin Lennox
Tyrin Turner Big
Minister Benjamin F. Muhammed Rev. Saviour
John "BJ" Bryant Thug #1

Technical Credits
Hype Williams Director,Original Story,Producer,Screenwriter
June Ambrose Costumes/Costume Designer
James Bigwood Executive Producer
Anthony Bodden Original Story
Stephen Cullo Score Composer
Sarah Gyllenstierna Asst. Director
Regan Jackson Production Designer
David Leonard Editor
Nicholas Lundy Art Director
Tod A. Maitland Sound/Sound Designer
Larry Meistrich Producer
Nas Original Story
Ron Rotholz Producer
Robert Salerno Producer
Malik Hassan Sayeed Cinematographer
Carol Silverman Set Decoration/Design
Winsome Sinclair Casting

Scene Index

Side #1 -- DVD
1. Main Title/Black Light [5:36]
2. Phat Cribs [7:12]
3. Dope Money [6:29]
4. The Jamaican Connection [4:53]
5. Different Area Codes [3:21]
6. Rollin Hard [2:56]
7. Kingstones Finest [2:51]
8. Independant Woman [2:17]
9. Locals Only [2:19]
10. Jacked Around [3:15]
11. Shaken Not Heard [3:59]
12. Clown Town [3:37]
13. Bailed Out [2:57]
14. Reggae Revenge [2:53]
15. A Double Shot [1:24]
16. A Classy Joint [5:06]
17. Hunting OX [3:23]
18. Schoolin Shorty [2:36]
19. The Choice [5:23]
20. House Call [1:26]
21. The Road to Destruction [5:25]
22. Fade Out [2:31]
23. Preaching to the Choir [9:52]
24. End Credits [3:38]

Customer Reviews