B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


Ariane Labed
Director: Athina Rachel Tsangari Cast: Ariane Labed
Ariane Labed
, Vangelis Mourikis
Vangelis Mourikis
, Evangelia Randou
Evangelia Randou
Athina Rachel Tsangari

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


Love, death, obsession, and family ties motivate the characters in this offbeat drama from writer and director Athina Rachel Tsangari. Marina (Ariane Labed) is an eccentric woman in her early 20s who has few friends and is physically repulsed by men, though she isn't satisfied by sex with women. One of the few things that bring Marina happiness is a high-rise block of flats in the industrial town where she was born; while the building is plain and unexceptional, there's something about the place (built to house the workers at an aluminum-processing facility) that fascinates her. The building was designed in part by Marina's father (Vangelis Mourikis), who is similarly obsessed with his own handiwork. As their love of the building brings them together, Marina becomes her father's companion and helper as he struggles through therapy for advanced cancer, with his coming death lurking on the horizon. Attenberg received its North American premiere at the 2010 Toronto International Film Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2012
UPC: 0712267310128
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Strand Home Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:33:00
Sales rank: 57,861

Special Features

Original theatricla trailer; Other Strand Releasing trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ariane Labed Marina
Vangelis Mourikis Spyros
Evangelia Randou Bella
Yorgos Lanthimos The Engineer

Technical Credits
Athina Rachel Tsangari Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Thimios Bakatakis Cinematographer
Sandrine Cheyrol Editor
Maria Hatzakou Producer
Matt Johnson Editor
Dafni Kalogianni Art Director
Christos V. Konstantakopoulos Executive Producer
Yorgos Lanthimos Producer
Iraklis Mavroidis Producer
Leandros Ntounis Sound/Sound Designer
Angelos Venetis Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Attenberg
1. Opening [8:16]
2. Prickly Pears [7:24]
3. Mutual Understanding [11:02]
4. Goal [4:38]
5. Never Desired [5:54]
6. Too Young [10:32]
7. Try Them Out [9:49]
8. Eaten by Worms [3:08]
9. Dance Parties [6:36]
10. Little Robots [5:58]
11. Say My Name [8:57]
12. Ending [6:28]

Customer Reviews