As If I Am Not There

As If I Am Not There

Natasha Petrovic
Director: Juanita Wilson Cast: Natasha Petrovic
Natasha Petrovic
, Fedja Stukan
Fedja Stukan
, Jelena Jovanovic
Jelena Jovanovic
Juanita Wilson


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


Filmmaker Juanita Wilson paints a harrowing portrait of a woman subjected to unrelenting horror in the midst of war in this powerful drama based on a true story. A lovely young woman in her twenties, Samira (Natasha Petrovic) was born and raised in a middle-class household in Sarajevo and has studied to be a teacher. Samira takes a job at a school in a country village, even though she's been warned that this will put her close to the fighting in Bosnia's civil war. Not long after Samira has settled in, the village is invaded by Serbian troops, and she and the rest of the women in town are rounded up and locked up in a holding facility while all the men are shot. Hours later, Samira is gang raped by a gang of soldiers and she and most of the other women are made the sexual slaves of the troops, only let out of their lock up when the soldiers want their services. Samira finds herself watching the violence inflicted on herself and the others from a physical and emotional distance, and isn't sure how to react to the few soldiers who show her any kindness. Adapted from a book by Slavenka Drakulic, As If I Am Not Here received its North American premiere at the 2010 Toronto International Film Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/11/2018
UPC: 0896137001405
Original Release: 2010
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:49:00
Sales rank: 51,195

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Natasha Petrovic Actor
Fedja Stukan Actor
Jelena Jovanovic Actor
Sanja Buric Actor
Irina Apelgren Actor

Technical Credits
Juanita Wilson Director,Screenwriter
Vladimir Anastasov Co-producer
Kiril Dzajkovski Score Composer
Tomas Eskilsson Co-producer
Nathan Fleming Editor
Tim Fleming Cinematographer
James Flynn Producer
Winfried Hammacher Executive Producer
Tsvetan Kadiiski Sound/Sound Designer
Zaklina Krstevska Costumes/Costume Designer
Nathalie Lichtenthaeler Producer
Bujar Muca Production Designer
Nathan Nugent Editor
Lena Rehnberg Co-producer
Karen Richards Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- As If I Am Not There
1. Sarajevo [11:24]
2. The Invasion [10:26]
3. Arrival [9:22]
4. The Nightmare Begins [9:15]
5. Agony [10:17]
6. Unspeakable [7:37]
7. The Captain [10:47]
8. Take It As A Compliment [12:31]
9. The War Is Over For You [8:48]
10. Freedom [6:23]
11. Aftermath [7:25]
12. End Credits [5:56]

Customer Reviews