Rhys Ifans
Director: Roland Emmerich Cast: Rhys Ifans
Rhys Ifans
, Vanessa Redgrave
Vanessa Redgrave
, Sebastian Armesto
Sebastian Armesto
Roland Emmerich

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 21


Director Roland Emmerich takes a break from his long string of big-budget disaster films with Anonymous, a historical drama that suggests Shakespeare was a fraud. Edward de Vere (Rhys Ifans) is an aristocrat who yearns to write poetry and plays, but due to social and political constraints, he is forced to use a front for his political-minded works because they subtly encourage Queen Elizabeth to alter her plan for succession in a way that is in direct opposition to her most-trusted political advisers. When drunken, illiterate, fame-hungry actor William Shakespeare (Rafe Spall) passes off the plays as his own, de Vere finds his man, but eventually he is blackmailed when the morally dubious thespian wants more and more. Anonymous screened at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/07/2012
UPC: 0043396394346
Original Release: 2011
Rating: PG-13
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 2:10:00
Sales rank: 41,593

Special Features

Commentary with Director Roland Emmerich and Writer John Orloff; Deleted scenes; Who is the real William Shakespeare?

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Rhys Ifans Earl of Oxford
Vanessa Redgrave Queen Elizabeth I
Sebastian Armesto Ben Johnson
Rafe Spall William Shakespeare
David Thewlis William Cecil
Edward Hogg Robert Cecil
Xavier Samuel Earl of Southampton
Sebastian Reid Earl of Essex
Jamie Campbell Bower Young Earl of Oxford
Joely Richardson Young Queen Elizabeth I
Paolo DeVita Francesco
Trystan Gravelle Christopher Marlowe
Robert Emms Thomas Dekker
Tony Way Thomas Nashe
Julian Bleach Captain Richard Pole
Derek Jacobi Prologue
Alex Hassell Spencer
James Garnon Heminge
Mark Rylance Condell
Jasper Britton Pope
Michael Brown Sly
Ned Dennehy Interrogator
John Keogh Philip Henslowe
Lloyd Hutchinson Richard Burbage
Vicky Krieps Bessie Vavasour
Helen Baxendale Anne De Vere
Paula Schramm Bridget De Vere
Amy Kwolek Young Anne De Vere
Luke Taylor Boy Earl of Oxford
Isaiah Michalsky Boy Robert Cecil
Timo Huber Boy Earl of Southampton
Richard Durdan Archbishop
Shaun Lawton Footman
Detlef Bothe John De Vere
James Clyde King James l
Christian Sengewald Cecil's Spy Servant
Jean-Loup Fourure Monsieur Beaulieu
Viktoria Gabrysch Buxom Lady
Axel Sichrovsky Essex General
Katrin Pollit Ladies-in-Waiting
Patricia Grove Ladies-in-Waiting
Laura Lo Zito Selling Maid
Gode Benedix Groundling
Nic Romm Usher
Henry Lloyd-Hughes Bear Baiter
Patrick Diemling Oxford's Servant
Patrick Heyn Oxford's Doctor
Nino Sandow Stage Manager (New York)
Craig Salisbury Dwarf / Puck
Rainer Guldener Quince
Trystan Wyn Pütter Bottom
Andre Kaczmarczyk Titania
Jonas Hammerle Child Oberon
Leonard Kinzinger Child Titania
Mike Maas Pole's Commander

Technical Credits
Roland Emmerich Director,Producer
Peter R. Adam Editor
Manfred Banach Sound Mixer
Hubert Bartholomae Sound/Sound Designer
Lisy Christl Costumes/Costume Designer
Leo Davis Casting
Christopher Doll Asst. Director
Gabriela Dumitrescu Choreography
Volker Engel Executive Producer
Sabine Engelberg Art Director
Anna Evenkamp Makeup
Gerd Feuchter Special Effects Supervisor
Christoph Fisser Co-producer
Anna Foerster Cinematographer
Larry Franco Producer
Kim Fredericksen Art Director
Lissy Holm Casting
Harald Kloser Score Composer
Sebastian Krawinkel Production Designer
Julia Lechner Makeup
Robert Leger Producer
Henning Molfenter Co-producer
John Orloff Executive Producer,Original Story,Screenwriter
Helmut Rühl Makeup
Sabine Schumann Makeup
Daniela Skala Makeup
Stefan Speth Art Director
Bryce Tibbey Art Director
Thomas Wander Score Composer
Christiane Weber Makeup
Marc Weigert Executive Producer
Kirstin Winkler Co-producer
Charlie Woebcken Co-producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Anonymous
1. Chapter 1 [10:02]
2. Chapter 2 [7:39]
3. Chapter 3 [9:50]
4. Chapter 4 [10:09]
5. Chapter 5 [6:09]
6. Chapter 6 [6:08]
7. Chapter 7 [8:14]
8. Chapter 8 [6:40]
9. Chapter 9 [6:17]
10. Chapter 10 [8:13]
11. Chapter 11 [:19]
12. Chapter 12 [10:25]
13. Chapter 13 [5:52]
14. Chapter 14 [7:14]
15. Chapter 15 [8:30]
16. Chapter 16 [6:01]

Customer Reviews