Pub. Date:
A Tornado in the Saddle

A Tornado in the Saddle

Alma Carroll
Director: William A. Berke Cast: Alma Carroll
Alma Carroll
, Tristram Coffin
Tristram Coffin
, Russell Hayden
Russell Hayden
William A. Berke


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 22


A good entry in one of the better B-Western series of the 1940s, A Tornado in the Saddle starred Russell Hayden as the new sheriff of Crestview. Hot on the trail of a gang of claim jumpers led by Dalton (Tristram Coffin) and Slim (Donald Curtis), the novice lawman also has to deal with hotheaded wrangler turned deputy Bob Wilson (Bob Wills), whom he is constantly forced to fight, but only after prudently removing his sheriff's star. The slippery villains prepare an ambush for the sheriff and his deputies, but Hayden's way with a rope eventually saves the day. Ostensibly a music Western, A Tornado in the Saddle refused to let warbling interfere with the almost non-stop action; in fact, the featured music performers, Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys, mostly have their hands full battling both the new sheriff and the outlaws. Future Goldwyn Girl Alma Carroll, as Curtis' innocent sister, has very little to do other than look fetching and is more or less forgotten by the end of the film. Comic sidekick Dub Taylor's hillbilly act is, as always, a matter of taste.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2012
UPC: 0043396408661
Original Release: 1942
Source: Sony Mod
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:00:00
Sales rank: 78,109

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Alma Carroll Actor
Tristram Coffin Actor
Russell Hayden Actor
Dub Taylor Actor
Texas Playboys Actor

Technical Credits
William A. Berke Director
Lionel Banks Art Director
Leon Barsha Producer
Irving Briskin Executive Producer
Burton Kramer Editor
George B. Meehan Cinematographer
William O'Connor Asst. Director
Charles Francis Royal Screenwriter
Cindy Walker Songwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- A Tornado in the Saddle
1. Chapter 1 [10:26]
2. Chapter 2 [9:03]
3. Chapter 3 [10:50]
4. Chapter 4 [10:12]
5. Chapter 5 [9:42]
6. Chapter 6 [9:06]

Customer Reviews