A Man Betrayed

A Man Betrayed

John Wayne
Director: John H. Auer Cast: John Wayne
John Wayne
, Frances Dee
Frances Dee
, Edward Ellis
Edward Ellis
John H. Auer

DVD (Remastered / B&W)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Bucolic lawyer John Wayne takes on big-city corruption in A Man Betrayed. He sets out to prove that an above-suspicion politician (Edward Ellis) is actually a crook. The price of integrity is sweet in this instance, since Wayne happens to be in love with the politician's daughter (Frances Dee). Man Betrayed can be viewed from the vantage point of the 1990s as an attempt by Republic Pictures to broaden the range of its biggest star, John Wayne. That it doesn't quite work is forgotten as the audience luxuriates in the sheer professionalism of the whole endeavor--and besides, the Duke does get to put up his dukes on more than one occasion. Man Betrayed has been released under two alternate titles: Wheel of Fortune for American television, and Citadel of Crime (coincidentally the title of a like-vintage Republic "B" picture) for British audiences.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/26/2013
UPC: 0887090057509
Original Release: 1941
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:22:00
Sales rank: 886

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Wayne Lynn Hollister
Frances Dee Sabra Cameron
Edward Ellis Tom Cameron
Ward Bond Floyd
Wallace Ford Casey
Alexander Granach T. Amato
Harold Huber Morris Slade
Barnett Parker George, the butler
Tim Ryan Wilson
Harry Hayden Langworthy
Russell Hicks Pringle
Pierre Watkin Governor
Ferris Taylor Mayor
Minerva Urecal Librarian
Edwin Stanley Prosecutor

Technical Credits
John H. Auer Director
Charles Craft Editor
Isabel Dawn Screenwriter
Cy Feuer Score Composer
Tom Kilpatrick Screenwriter
John Victor Mackay Art Director
Jack A. Marta Cinematographer
Jack Moffitt Original Story
Armand Schaefer Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- A Man Betrayed
1. Chapter 1 [:00]
2. Chapter 2 [10:26]
3. Chapter 3 [11:56]
4. Chapter 4 [11:27]
5. Chapter 5 [6:07]
6. Chapter 6 [8:10]
7. Chapter 7 [12:22]
8. Chapter 8 [12:27]
9. Chapter 9 [8:59]

Customer Reviews