a/k/a Tommy Chong

a/k/a Tommy Chong

Director: Josh Gilbert Cast: Tommy Chong, Shelby Chong, Paris Chong


$14.26 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.26, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


When comedy legend Tommy Chong was arrested in 2003 and given a nine-month prison sentence for the manufacture and sale of drug paraphernalia, U.S. Attorney General John Ashcroft's revamped war on drugs soared, like a mighty eagle stricken with vertigo in mid-flight, to new levels of absurdity. Fortunately, filmmaker Josh Gilbert's cameras were rolling at the time, offering viewers a firsthand account of the vengeful American justice system in action. In addition to glamorizing drug use, prosecutors argued that Chong was also guilty of trivializing efforts by law enforcement agencies to combat drug proliferation. When all was said and done, Chong, along with 54 others, was indicted on federal charges. For two years, Gilbert's prying lens followed the highly publicized case, allowing an amusing and sometimes frightening portrayal of eroding civil liberties in modern-day America.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2011
UPC: 0760137511892
Original Release: 2005
Source: Mvd Visual
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:20:00
Sales rank: 52,408

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Tommy Chong Participant
Shelby Chong Participant
Paris Chong Participant
Eric Schlosser Participant
Lou Adler Participant
Dick Allen Participant
Steven Hager Narrator
Ston D. Levenson Participant
Mike Nasatir Participant
Peter Coyote Participant
Josh Gilbert Narrator
Jay Leno Participant
Cheech Marin Participant
Bill Maher Participant
George Thorogood Participant

Technical Credits
Josh Gilbert Director,Cinematographer,Producer,Screenwriter
Will Becton Co-producer,Editor
Sabrina Buchanek Sound/Sound Designer
Precious Chong Associate Producer
Bonita DeWolfe Associate Producer
John Ennis Cinematographer
David Hausen Co-producer
Abby Laspia Associate Producer
Howard Leder Editor
Bruce Maddocks Sound/Sound Designer
Sean McCall Camera Operator
Oz Noy Score Composer
Marc Otto Editor
Oznoy Score Composer
Rebecca Rowe Executive Producer
Jonathan Schell Cinematographer
A.D. Sinha Executive Producer
Matt Stephens Executive Producer
Tom Walls Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- a/k/a Tommy Chong
1. My Name Is Tommy Chong [13:42]
2. Muskegon [12:10]
3. One Big Hit [11:23]
4. Growing up [21:46]
5. Release Day [13:38]
6. Credits [5:12]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews