B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
A Game of Death

A Game of Death

John Loder
Director: Robert Wise Cast: John Loder
John Loder
, Audrey Long
Audrey Long
, Edgar Barrier
Edgar Barrier
Robert Wise

DVD (Subtitled)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


RKO Radio's A Game of Death was the first official remake of Richard Connell's The Most Dangerous Game, given a contemporary WW2 twist. Novelist Rainsford (John Loder) and brother-and-sister shipwreck victims Ellen (Audrey Long) and Robert (Russell Wade) are among the innocents stranded on remote island at the mercy of Nazi madman Krieger (Edgar Barrier). Fancying himself a sportsman, Krieger offers his captives an hour's head start before he begins hunting them down like animals. The by-now-familiar plotline is not as compelling as in the original 1932 version of Most Dangerous Game or the 1956 Mexican-based remake (Run for the Sun), thanks to the pedestrian acting of everyone except Edgar Barrier. Still, Robert Wise imbues the story with plenty of tension, especially in the closing reels.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/21/2017
UPC: 0738329211301
Original Release: 1945
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:12:00
Sales rank: 70,901

Special Features

Audio commentary by film historian Richard Harland Smith; Trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Loder Rainsford
Audrey Long Ellen
Edgar Barrier Kreiger
Russell Wade Robert
Jason Robards Captain
Russell Hicks Whitney
Noble Johnson Carib
Robert Clarke Helmsman
Gene Roth Pleshke

Technical Credits
Robert Wise Director
Constantin Bakaleinikoff Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Connell Original Story
Lucius O. Croxton Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino Art Director
Norman Houston Screenwriter
Roy Hunt Cinematographer
Paul Sawtell Score Composer
Herman Schlom Producer
J.R. Whittredge Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- A Game of Death
1. Chapter 1 [7:31]
2. Chapter 2 [13:02]
3. Chapter 3 [4:09]
4. Chapter 4 [6:58]
5. Chapter 5 [12:32]
6. Chapter 6 [9:23]
7. Chapter 7 [13:58]
8. Chapter 8 [4:30]

Customer Reviews