Dust [Expanded Edition] [2 CD]

Dust [Expanded Edition] [2 CD]

by Screaming Trees, Mark Lanegan Screaming Trees
Dust [Expanded Edition] [2 CD]

Dust [Expanded Edition] [2 CD]

by Screaming Trees, Mark Lanegan Screaming Trees


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 1


In many ways, Screaming Trees missed their opportunity. They released Sweet Oblivion just as grunge began to capture national attention and they didn't tour the album extensively, which meant nearly all of their fellow Seattle bands became superstars while they stood to the side. After four years, they returned with Dust, their third major-label album, and by that point, the band's sound was too idiosyncratic for alternative radio. Which is unfortunate, because Dust is the band's strongest album. Sure, the rough edges that fueled albums like Uncle Anesthesia are gone, but in its place is a rustic hard rock, equally informed by heavy metal and folk. The influence of Mark Lanegan's haunting solo albums is apparent in both the sound and emotional tone of the record, but this is hardly a solo project -- the rest of the band has added a gritty weight to Lanegan's spare prose. Screaming Trees sound tighter than they ever have and their melodies and hooks are stronger, more memorable, making Dust their most consistently impressive record. [A two-CD Expanded Edition of Dust was released in 2017, featuring an 11-track bonus disc including the non-album B-sides "Wasted Time" and "Silver Tongue"; live versions of "Butterfly," "Dollar Bill," and "Caught Between/The Secret Kind"; a version of "Darkness Darkness" originally recorded for the True Lies motion picture soundtrack; a studio version of Tim Rose's "Morning Dew"; a cover of Australian hard rock band Buffalo's "Freedom"; and more. The set also included a booklet containing Screaming Trees memorabilia and liner notes by Matt Reynolds.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/07/2017
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929918726
catalogNumber: 87
Rank: 57996


Disc 1

  1. Halo of Ashes
  2. All I Know
  3. Look at You
  4. Dying Days
  5. Make My Mind
  6. Sworn and Broken
  7. Witness
  8. Traveler
  9. Dime Western
  10. Gospel Plow

Disc 2

  1. Darkness Darkness
  2. Paperback Bible
  3. Watchpocket Blues
  4. Wasted Time
  5. Silver Tongue
  6. Butterfly
  7. Dollar Bill
  8. Caught Between/The Secret Kind
  9. Working Class Hero
  10. Morning Dew
  11. Freedom

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Screaming Trees   Primary Artist
Mark Lanegan   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Benmont Tench   Organ,Piano,Electric Piano,Mellotron
George Drakoulias   Percussion
Chris Goss   Background Vocals
Brian Jenkins   Background Vocals
Barrett Martin   Percussion,Cello,Conga,Drums,Harmonium,Tabla,Djembe,Group Member
Mike McCready   Soloist
Gary Lee Conner   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Sitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Van Conner   Bass,Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jeff Nolan   Guitar

Technical Credits

Mark Lanegan   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Screaming Trees   Producer
Jesse Colin Young   Composer
Buffalo   Engineer
Tim Rose   Composer,Engineer
Bonnie Dobson   Composer
John Agnello   Engineer
John Baxter   Composer
George Drakoulias   Producer
Brett Eliason   Producer,Engineer
Don Fleming   Producer
Brian Jenkins   Engineer
Barrett Martin   Composer
Jim Scott   Engineer
Dave Tice   Composer
Gary Lee Conner   Composer
Van Conner   Composer
Chris Shaw   Engineer
Mark Danielson   Illustrations
Matt Reynolds   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews