Dust on the Nettles: A Journey Through the British Underground Folk Scene 1967-1972

Dust on the Nettles: A Journey Through the British Underground Folk Scene 1967-1972


$34.91 $34.99 Save 0% Current price is $34.91, Original price is $34.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6


This richly realized collection from the Cherry Red label's psych/garage imprint Grapefruit offers up three heaping discs worth of British folk from its late-'60s and early-'70s heyday. The scene's influential flagship acts like Fairport Convention, Steeleye Span, Pentangle, and the Incredible String Band are all represented, but the real attraction here is a hefty amount of deep cuts from more obscure regional acts who received scant recognition in their time. Chronicling the five-year period between 1967 and 1972, Dust on the Nettles pools together the various intertwining movements of underground folk in the U.K. from the more staunch traditionalists to the more cerebral, psych-influenced acts and everything in between. Progressive bands like Comus and Synanthesia get their due, as do mysterious rarities like Shide & Acorn, Agincourt, and Melton Constable. Cult heroes like Vashti Bunyan and Bill Fay, who received unexpected post-millennium career revivals, sit alongside acts who would later become associated with other genres like Marc Bolan's pre-glam Tyrannosaurus Rex and early, neo-folk editions of new wavers Duncan Browne and Joan Armatrading. With its generous mix of recognizable masters and unexpected surprises, Dust on the Nettles is a treasure trove begging to be discovered.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/07/2015
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929183001
catalogNumber: 30
Rank: 9033


Disc 1

  1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  2. Willow's Song
  3. Come All You Travellers
  4. Love is a Funny Thing
  5. Images of Passing Clouds
  6. Peek Strangely and Worried Evening
  7. Glass of Water
  8. Winter is Blue
  9. Winter is a Coloured Bird
  10. The Seagulls Scream
  11. Stories of Jesus
  12. Amanda
  13. Curious Crystals of Unusual Purity
  14. Roses For Columbus
  15. Til the Morning Comes
  16. Black Girl
  17. The Garden of Jane Delawney
  18. Weirdsong of Breaking Through At Last
  19. Minas Tirith
  20. Prisoners, Victims, Strangers, Friends

Disc 2

  1. Pilgrim
  2. River Lane
  3. Way Out Hermit
  4. All Things Are Quite Silent
  5. Upon Reflection
  6. Love is Come Again
  7. Stargazer
  8. There Are No Greater Heroes
  9. Visionary Mountains
  10. Glow of the Firelight
  11. Searching For Lambs
  12. Samantha Carol Fragments
  13. Fotheringay
  14. You Know What Has To Be
  15. Meanwhile Back In the Forest
  16. First Girl I Loved
  17. Halfdan’S Daughter
  18. The Mutant
  19. Meeting By the Moonlight Mill
  20. Highways (Misty Mist)
  21. Gabilan
  22. Sand All Yellow

Disc 3

  1. Garden Song
  2. Music of the Ages
  3. A Song For the System
  4. The Colour is Blue
  5. Silent Village
  6. Welcome To the Citadel
  7. The Evil Venus Tree
  8. Standing On the Shore
  9. Kind Sir
  10. Eagle
  11. Rosemary Hill
  12. The Happy King
  13. Me and My Kite
  14. Wizard Shep
  15. Scarborough Fair
  16. Prisoner
  17. Patrice
  18. Girl of the Cosmos
  19. Elegy To a Dead King
  20. Silence Returns
  21. Orange Days and Purple Nights

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Wells   Compield

Technical Credits

Sandy Denny   Composer
Bert Jansch   Arranger,Composer
Steve Jolliffe   Composer
Joan Armatrading   Composer
Kevin Coyne   Composer
Marc Brierley   Composer
Gary Farr   Composer
Bill Fay   Composer
Shelagh McDonald   Composer
Bridget St. John   Composer
Marc Bolan   Composer
John Renbourn   Arranger,Composer
Duncan Browne   Composer
Jacqui McShee   Arranger,Composer
Chrissie Quaye   Composer
Steve Peregrine Took   Composer
Clive Palmer   Composer
Paterson   Arranger,Composer
Vashti   Composer
Softley   Composer
Andy Morten   Layout
Adriann Lewis   Composer
Oberon   Composer
David Wells   Liner Notes
Simon Finn   Composer
Mark Fry   Composer
Tony Doré   Composer
Nettles   Composer
Clague   Composer
Folkal Point   Arranger,Composer
McAuley   Composer
Bidwell   Composer
Cartwright   Composer
O'Donnell   Composer
Hutchings   Composer
Boshell   Composer
Gerald Moore   Arranger,Composer
Alan Wakeman   Composer
Tony Way   Composer
Terry Keyworth   Composer
Steepy Rojo   Composer
Brian Lindop   Composer

Customer Reviews