Dua Lipa

Dua Lipa

by Dua LipaDua Lipa


$14.77 $14.99 Save 1% Current price is $14.77, Original price is $14.99. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the confidence and determination of a seasoned vet, English-Albanian singer/songwriter Dua Lipa crafted a delightful collection of catchy pop gems where the songs only serve to highlight her vocal prowess. Lithe enough to avoid production overkill and containing just enough substance to nourish, Dua Lipa arrived after years of studio time and six big singles (three of which became U.K. Top 40 hits). The album is front-loaded with those highlights, creating a rush of dancefloor intensity with "Hotter Than Hell," "Be the One," "Blow Your Mind (Mwah)," and the duet with Miguel, "Lost in Your Light." The second half of the LP shines an extra spotlight on Lipa's voice, which, to some extent, can echo the control and power of Adele and Sia. "Garden" is a sweeping, soulful number that does just that, combining the dramatics of a slow-burning Sia ballad with Adele's delivery. "No Goodbyes" is another emotional journey, one of the handful of absolutely yearning and pained confessions from Lipa's broken heart. The acoustic R&B "Thinking 'Bout You" smolders, a lovelorn lament that finds Lipa exhausting her chemical outlets in an attempt to forget a past romance. In a similar vein, "New Rules" is all house-inflected shine, a cautionary list that cleverly warns "if you're under him, you're not over him." In addition to Miguel, a pair of other guests contribute additional highlights. The MNEK-produced kiss-off "IDGAF" is a cheeky, Ed Sheeran-esque singalong that provides a perfect anthem for anyone who has ever been burned by love. "Homesick" -- written by Chris Martin -- could be a direct sequel to Coldplay's 2016 single "Everglow." The delicate ballad reveals Lipa's vulnerability and softness, the defenses of studio production stripped away, leaving only Lipa, Martin, and a twinkling piano. Such exposure isn't found elsewhere on the rest of the album, which is mostly concerned with self-empowerment and Lipa's refreshingly defiant attitude. It's moments like this one that strike such a satisfying balance on Dua Lipa, an excellent first effort from a budding pop star. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2017
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0190295938482
catalogNumber: 556935
Rank: 139653

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dua Lipa   Primary Artist,Vocals
Rick Nowels   Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Greg Wells   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Drums
Jon Levine   Guitar
Chris Martin   Piano,Vocals
Zac Rae   Synthesizer,Piano
Todd Clark   Background Vocals
Dean Reid   Keyboards
Adam Argyle   Guitar
Talay Riley   Background Vocals
Andreas Schüller   Percussion,Keyboards
James Flannigan   Piano,Drums
Grades   Drums,Keyboards
Andreas Schuller   Percussion,Keyboards
Leroy Clampitt   Guitar
Aadin Church   Background Vocals
Larzz Principato   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lauren Christy   Composer
Rick Nowels   Composer
Greg Wells   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jay Reynolds   Additional Production
Jon Levine   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Lindy Robbins   Composer
Chris Martin   Composer
Kieron Menzies   Engineer
Tom Neville   Vocal Producer
Sarah Hudson   Composer
Adam Argyle   Composer
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Emily Warren   Composer
Dan Traynor   Composer
Adam Midgley   Composer
Bill Rahko   Producer
Cara Salimando   Composer
Miguel   Composer,Producer
Jack Tarrant   Composer,Vocal Producer
Lucy Taylor   Composer
Suzy Shinn   Vocal Producer
Andreas Schüller   Composer
Tommy Baxter   Composer
Clarence Coffee   Composer
MNEK   Composer
Trevor Yasuda   Engineer
James Flannigan   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Axident   Producer
Cameron Gower-Poole   Engineer
Skyler Stonestreet   Composer
Caroline Ailin   Composer
Grades   Programming,Producer
Gabe Simon   Composer
Lorna Blackwood   Vocal Producer
Dua Lipa   Composer
Andreas Schuller   Composer
Big Taste   Additional Production
Sean Douglas   Composer
Larzz Principato   Composer
Whiskey Waters   Composer

Customer Reviews