B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Drop the Needle on the Hits: The Best of Booker & the MG's [B&N Exclusive]

Drop the Needle on the Hits: The Best of Booker & the MG's [B&N Exclusive]

by Booker T. & the MG's Booker T. & the MG's

Vinyl LP(Exclusive)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, July 5


Booker T. & the M.G.'s are an American instrumental R&B/funk band that was influential in shaping the sound of Southern soul and Memphis soul. The original members of the group were Booker T. Jones (organ, piano), Steve Cropper (guitar), Lewie Steinberg (bass), and Al Jackson Jr. (drums). In the 1960s, as members of the house band of Stax Records, they played on hundreds of recordings by artists including Wilson Pickett, Otis Redding, Bill Withers, Sam & Dave, Carla Thomas, Rufus Thomas, Johnnie Taylor and Albert King. They also released instrumental records under their own name, including the 1962 hit single "Green Onions". As originators of the unique Stax sound, the group was one of the most prolific, respected, and imitated of its era. By the mid-1960s, bands on both sides of the Atlantic were trying to sound like Booker T. & the M.G.'s.

In 1965, Steinberg was replaced by Donald "Duck" Dunn, who played with the group until his death in 2012. Al Jackson Jr. was murdered in 1975, after which Dunn, Cropper and Jones reunited on numerous occasions using various drummers, including Willie Hall, Anton Fig, Steve Jordan and Steve Potts.

The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992, the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville, Tennessee in 2008, the Memphis Music Hall of Fame in 2012, and the Blues Hall of Fame in 2019.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2019
Label: Barnes Noble Consign
UPC: 0081227909918
catalogNumber: 604463


  1. Green Onions
  2. Hang 'Em High
  3. Chinese Checkers
  4. Mrs. Robinson
  5. Soul Dressing
  6. Groovin'
  7. Hip Hug-Her
  8. Mo' Onions
  9. Time Is Tight
  10. Boot Leg
  11. My Sweet Potato
  12. Soul Limbo

Album Credits

Customer Reviews