Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by Madeleine Peyroux Madeleine Peyroux


by Madeleine Peyroux Madeleine Peyroux


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 1


Madeleine Peyroux made a bit of a stir in 1996 due to her voice sounding remarkably close at times to Billie Holiday's. This wide-ranging set features Peyroux singing swing standards, originals and tunes that hint at country and folk music. Her supporting cast, which changes on each selection, includes a restrained James Carter on tenor and bass clarinet, Marc Ribot on dobro and guitar, trumpeter Marcus Printup, pianist Cyrus Chestnut and violinist Regina Carter, among others. A very interesting release which, despite the derivative nature of Peyroux's voice, is full of surprises. Highlights include "Walkin' After Midnight," "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter," "La Vie en Rose" and "Muddy Water."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/1996
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678294624
catalogNumber: 82946
Rank: 62919


  1. Walkin' After Midnight
  2. Hey Sweet Man
  3. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  4. (Getting Some) Fun Out of Life
  5. La Vie en Rose
  6. Always a Use
  7. A Prayer
  8. Muddy Water
  9. Was I?
  10. Dreamland
  11. Reckless Blues
  12. Lovesick Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Madeleine Peyroux   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Marc Ribot   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Dobro,Electric Guitar
James Carter   Bass Clarinet,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Regina Carter   Violin
Cyrus Chestnut   Piano
Greg Cohen   Bass,Marimbas,Bowed Bass
Charlie Giordano   Organ,Accordion,Harmonium,Harpsichord,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Mellotron
M.P.   Guitar,Vocals
Leon Parker   Cymbals,Drums
Vernon Reid   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Larry Saltzman   Electric Guitar
Marcus Printup   Trumpet
Kenny Wollesen   Percussion,Cymbals,Drums,Bass Drums
Steve Kirby   Bass

Technical Credits

Edith Piaf   Composer
Yves Beauvais   Producer
Greg Cohen   Arranger,Producer
Mike Krowiak   Engineer
Michael O'Reilly   Engineer
Madeleine Peyroux   Poetry
Thomas Bricker   Art Direction
Marcel Louiguy   Composer
Mack David   Composer

Customer Reviews