by Secret GardenSecret Garden

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$17.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


New age duo Secret Garden (Irish violinist Fionnuala Sherry and Norwegian keyboardist Rolf Lovland) have cultivated a devoted group of fans with their top-selling albums of mood music: Songs from a Secret Garden (1996), White Stones (1997), and the millennial Dawn of a New Century. Now that the duo's success is an open secret, it's time for a "best of" album. Enter Dreamcatcher, a cream-of-the-crop compilation of 19 tracks handpicked from Secret Garden's bountiful yield. The wistful "Nocturne" -- assisted by vocalist Gunnhild Tvinnereim -- opens the album, while lyricist Nikki Matheson provides the title track's restful lullaby. Celtic rhythms and a soundtrack sensibility inhabit "Dawn of a New Century," followed by the sentimental summing-up "Last Present," a newly recorded bonus track. Derek Bell of the Chieftains, the Celtic choral group Anuna, and even the Irish National Symphony Orchestra all play a part, too. Dreamcatcher affirms what Secret Garden's fans already know: The duo's mélange of folk-inspired melodies, sweet harmonies, and languid tempos is set to soothe the soul.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/22/2001
Label: Philips
UPC: 0731454686921
catalogNumber: 546869
Rank: 55525

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Secret Garden   Primary Artist
Derek Bell   Tiompan
Alf Emil Eik   Guitar,Background Vocals,Sampling
Robbie Casserly   Drums
Noel Eccles   Percussion
Tom Hayes   Spoons,Bodhran
Karen Matheson   Vocals
Máirtín O'Connor   Accordion
Eoghan O'Neill   Bass
Fionnuala Sherry   Violin,Vocals
Davy Spillane   uillean pipes,Low Whistle
Anúna   Choir, Chorus
David Agnew   English Horn,Oboe
RTÉ Concert Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Moore   Guitar
National Symphony Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Bjørn Ole Rasch   Keyboards
Pat Broaders   uillean pipes
Rolf Lovland   Piano,Conductor,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Michael McGlynn   Choir Conductor
Rhonan Sugrue   Soprano (Vocal)
Gunnhild Tvinnereim   Vocals
John Tate   Conductor
Nikki Matheson   Background Vocals
Kenneth Edge   Soprano Saxophone
Aisling Drury-Byrne   Cello
Andrea Marlish   Harp
Åsa Jinder   Fiddle
Steinar Ofsdal   Chinese Flute
John Kavanagh   Narrator

Technical Credits

Alf Emil Eik   Engineer
Andrew Boland   Producer,Engineer
Fionnuala Sherry   Producer
Fiachra Trench   Orchestration,Score
Dorothy Low   Cover Photo
Mark Wilkinson   Concept
Rolf Lovland   Arranger,Producer,Score
John Tate   Composer,Orchestration,Score
Alan Smale   Orchestra Leader
Sun-Mool   Composer

Customer Reviews