Dream Big and Other Life Lessons from the Enormous Crocodile

Dream Big and Other Life Lessons from the Enormous Crocodile

Hardcover

$8.63 $8.99 Save 4% Current price is $8.63, Original price is $8.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

A darkly funny gift book based on Roald Dahl's beloved story The Enormous Crocodile, featuring art by Quentin Blake.

The Enormous Crocodile has been employing "secret plans and clever tricks" for years, hoping to one day score his favorite meal: a juicy little child. And finally, he shares his wit and wisdom with a world hungry for his sage advice. Find out all of our devious villain's tips and advice in this grim, but humorous gift book perfect for fans of All My Friends Are Dead. And with Quentin Blake's illustrations, this full-color book will have readers plotting their own clever tricks in no time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781524792091
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 04/02/2019
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 115,993
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 6.60(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 3 - 7 Years

About the Author

Roald Dahl (1916–1990) was born in Llandaff, South Wales, and went to Repton School in England. His parents were Norwegian, so holidays were spent in Norway. As he explains in Boy, he turned down the idea of university in favor of a job that would take him to "a wonderful faraway place." In 1933 he joined the Shell Company, which sent him to Mombasa in East Africa. When World War II began in 1939, he became a fighter pilot and in 1942 was made assistant air attaché in Washington, where he started to write short stories. His first major success as a writer for children was in 1964. Thereafter his children's books brought him increasing popularity, and when he died, children mourned the world over, particularly in Britain where he had lived for many years.

Quentin Blake's first book, Patrick, was published in 1968 and was followed by classics such as Mister Magnolia, All Join In, and Clown. He is best known for illustrating Roald Dahl’s books. A patron of the Association of Illustrators, he was awarded the Kate Greenaway Medal in 1980 and the international Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2002, and was the inaugural British Children’s Laureate from 1999 to 2001.

Date of Birth:

September 13, 1916

Date of Death:

November 23, 1990

Place of Birth:

Llandaff, Wales, England

Place of Death:

Oxford, England

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews