Down the River of Golden Dreams

Down the River of Golden Dreams

by Okkervil RiverOkkervil River


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Down the River of Golden Dreams is the record Okkervil River has been threatening to make since its 2000 issue, Stars Too Small to Use. Songwriter Will Sheff has turned out his nicest batch of tunes here and reined in his voice just enough to communicate his ideas without pushing too hard, while simultaneously keeping the urgency and emotive qualities he showcased on the predecessor to this record, Don't Fall in Love with Everyone You See. Because of this, Down the River of Golden Dreams is easily the group's most cohesive record to date, and solidifies Okkervil River as a band worthy of scrutiny. The fluidity of Sheff's thoughtful lyrics align with his ability to play with tension, which comes across rather nicely on the jaunty "It Ends with a Fall," the dynamic epic "The War Criminal Rises and Speaks," and the delicate "Maine Island Lovers." The band has grown into a tighter unit with a knack for some nice arrangements -- which again was hinted at on Okkervil River's previous releases, but not fully realized until now. Liberal use of Rhodes, Hammond organ, and Mellotrons is the catalyst of these songs, leading the strings and horns through crescendos and textural landscapes without losing the raw nature that has always suited Okkervil River's honesty and desire to connect with the listener on an emotional level very well.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/02/2003
Label: Jagjaguwar
UPC: 0656605205427
catalogNumber: 54
Rank: 147277


  1. Down the River of Golden Dreams
  2. It Ends With a Fall
  3. For the Enemy
  4. Blanket and Crib
  5. The War Criminal Rises and Speaks
  6. The Velocity of Saul at the Time of His Conversion
  7. Dead Faces
  8. Maine Island Lovers
  9. Song About a Star
  10. Yellow
  11. Seas Too Far to Reach

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Okkervil River   Primary Artist
Thomas Heyman   Pedal Steel Guitar
John Vanderslice   Bells
Seth Warren   Drums,Vocals
Will Sheff   Guitar,Vocals,Whirly Tube
Jonathan Meiburg   Banjo,Piano,Hammond Organ,Tambourine,Vocals,Mellotron,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Zachary Thomas   Mandolin,Electric Bass,Vocals
Michi Aceret   Viola
Katie Curran   Trombone
Geoffrey Hershberger   Cello
Alan Molina   Violin
Graham Taylor   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Mike Nesmith & The First National Band   Contributor
Okkervil River   Producer
Scott Solter   Engineer
William Schaff   Cover Art

Customer Reviews