Down by Law

Down by Law

by Down by LawDown by Law


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Dave Smalley's previous experience with melodic punkers All serves him well on Down By Law's debut, which often incorporates tunefulness without sacrificing intensity; the vocal harmonies of "Dreams Away" and the dreamy delay effects of "Vision" don't undermine those songs, but make them a bit deeper and more dimensional. Unfortunately, those techniques aren't applied consistently throughout the album, resulting in a lack of cohesion; at times Down By Law sounds like one of the many Bad Religion clones ("The Truth"), while at others they sound like hard rock hacks ("American Dream"). But when Down By Law finds the right balance of aggression and melody, as on gems like the Descendents-esque "Best Friends," the band shows great potential.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/1992
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778641123
catalogNumber: 86411
Rank: 138967


  1. Right or Wrong
  2. Vision
  3. Dreams Away
  4. Down the Drain
  5. American Dream
  6. The Truth
  7. Best Friends
  8. Mat Gleason Is God
  9. The One
  10. Can't See It Still
  11. Surf Punk
  12. Too Much Grey

Album Credits

Customer Reviews