by Lee KonitzLee Konitz


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Billed as the "Lee Konitz Terzet" (without ever defining what "Terzet" is), this fine trio set features Konitz on alto, tenor, soprano and even a vocal, plus pianist Harold Danko and bassist Jay Leonhart. Konitz states in the liner notes that "we played in a club for one week and found a way to create nice instant arrangements on familiar tunes..." That pretty well describes this music, for even the so-called originals by the trio have a close relationship to a familiar standard. The repertoire is certainly a bit offbeat for these modernists, particularly such songs as "I Want to Be Happy," "Sweet Georgia Brown" and "Penthouse Serenade," but the musicians come up with fresh statements on all of the tunes. A continually interesting set, like most of Lee Konitz's recordings.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/1995
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728100328
catalogNumber: 1003
Rank: 131273


  1. I Want to Be Happy
  2. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes
  3. Counter-Point
  4. Dovetail
  5. Sweet Georgia Brown
  6. Alone Together
  7. Cherokee
  8. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)
  9. Play Fiddle Play

Album Credits

Customer Reviews