Audio CD

$49.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

In the companion to her acclaimed So Done, Paula Chase follows best friends Simp and Rollie as their friendship is threatened by the pressures of basketball, upcoming auditions, middle school, and their growing involvement in the local drug ring.

Dough Boys is a memorably vivid story about the complex friendship between two African American boys whose lives are heading down very different paths. For fans of Jason Reynolds’s Ghost and Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger.

Deontae “Simp” Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project.

Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy—getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.

Roland “Rollie” Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game, how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn't sure he's down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?

Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds’s Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ghost Boys, and Chris Crutcher.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781665060783
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/02/2021
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.50(h) x 5.00(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Paula Chase is the author of several books for teens. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a cheerleading coach and in public relations for a tech company. She is the cofounder of The Brown Bookshelf, a site designed to increase awareness of African American voices writing for young readers. So Done is her middle grade debut. She lives in Annapolis, Maryland. You can visit her online at www.PaulaChaseHyman.com.

Customer Reviews