Don't Scream

Don't Scream

by Joan Lowery Nixon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Don’t Scream from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        When two new guys start at Jess’s high school, she thinks the year is really looking up. What she can’t know is that there is a connection between them. One has been given a new identity by the government. The other is seeking revenge. Jess doesn’t know whom she can trust. Will she be the next victim?
 
“A page-turner.” –VOYA
 
“An exciting thriller that will keep teens on the edge of their seats.” –School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307823526
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/25/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 732,528
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Don't Scream 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A simple town in Texas was sure no crimes would ever happen where they live, but they were wrong. It all started when Mr. Chamberlin¿s cat and Jessica¿s cat went missing. Jess knew someone had killed them because she saw someone outside Mr. Chamberlin¿s house every night for a while. Yet the terror really struck when Jess found out some things about the two suspects, Mark and Scott, she would have never guessed. Jess goes through so many obstacles to solve the mystery. Finding out Mark and Scott¿s real identities, discovering abandoned graves, and coming close to death. The suspense keeps on building, and the outcome may change how these Texas residents will live for the rest of their lives. The reason I liked this book was because it kept me wanting more and more. I was always on my toes waiting to see what would happen next. The only thing I would change is how it started. It didn¿t really interest me until I got into the middle of the book. Yet out of five stars I would definitely give this Joan Lowery Nixon novel four stars. Anyone who loves mysteries that can also give you frightening chills should read this book from the loved author from Houston, Texas.
jlarsonhamilton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two cute new boys have just moved into town, so best friends Jess and Lori befriend them. Jess senses some strange behavior from both Mark and Scott as she gets to know them. Now strange things are starting to happen in her neighborhood. Could Scott or Mark be the trouble? Jess is determined to find out. The story was a good mystery that kept you guessing until the end. The story also demonstrated that what students are learning in school can also be useful outside of school. We see this when Jess learns from her journalism class how to investigate people, which ends up helping her solve the mystery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was the first book i read by this author and i loved it! I just couldn't put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book was horrible compared to any of the other books that this author has written. I hated that it hardly had any mystery and was just about cats and crazy kids. please do not read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
good book... i just dont think its the best out there. it may have had an interesting plot to figure which one was truly her friend or not but it was boring in some parts. its an okay read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don¿t Scream Author: Joan Lowery Nixon Book Report by: Hillary Jessica Donnally is thirteen years old. She goes to a school she loves and has an amazing family. She lives in a small town, of Oakberry, Texas, where everyone knows everyone knows each other. When Jessica sees a moving truck outside of her old neighbor¿s house, she gets happy. Finally a new neighbor, she thinks. She is walking home from school and she sees the new neighbors coming out of their house. She runs up to them and introduces herself. She looks at the family: a mom, a dad and a boy her age! The boy introduce himself, ¿Hi, I¿m Mark Milak.¿ Jessica is happy considering the boy is cute. She goes home and tells her mom about him. The mom is happy for Jessica to make new friends. The next day at school Jessica sees the boy, she notices there is another new boy too, Scott Alexander. She can¿t help but wonder why there are two new boys. That usually never happens. There is now a rumor going around that one of the boy has been given a new name by the government. She is amazed. The boy is looking for revenge. She is so confused. There is definitely something wrong with her town. She just has to figure out what. Also what the boys did to be sent to her school. This book was exciting to read at times. Some parts got boring though. I was able to feel like I was in the book because the author had a way of describing what she saw. The main conflict interested me because I wanted to know what Mark did. The characters were realistic because I could see this book coming true to some rebel. The book¿s ending was satisfying but at the same time it was predictable. In this book, Joan Lowery Nixon has a suspenseful voice. She always kept me on the edge of my seat. The author doesn¿t use vocabulary in a interesting way. Here and there I would come upon a difficult vocabulary word. The author always keeps you on the edge of your seat. That was very unique considering that I don¿t find that in books these days. I liked how I was able to tell when Jessica was yelling and when she was whispering. I liked the authors use of tone. If I were to give the author writing advice I would say, Make sure the first few pages of the book is the best, or else it wont grab the readers attention. If I were to rate this book I would give it a six out of ten. I would give it that rating because I don¿t think that the beginning was attention grabbing. Although Joan Lowery Nixon is a good author I did not enjoy this read. I am looking foreword to her other books though. In conclusion ¿Don¿t Scream¿, by Joan Lowery Nixon used good tone but it did not have a good beginning. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a semi- boring book that has a semi-good ending. All though this book wasn¿t my favorite I would still recommend Joan Lowery Nixon¿s other books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was so good. I had to read it in the 9th grade for an independent book report and i just couldnt put it down. the best book I've read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read two of joan lowery nixon's books.'Don't Scream'and'Playing for Keeps'.They were both great books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is one of the best mystery type books i have ever read(which i have done at least 3 times by the way...), its also one of joan lowery nixon's best books
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was by far the best book I have ever read. I thought this book was the coolest, thriling book ever. My favorite book would probably be...... DON'T SCREAM.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jess thinks that things will get better at school when two cute guys show up. But somethings strange- she doesn't even know there real names, one has been given a new one by the government and the other is out for revenge, who will she trust?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great! Scary, thrilling, and fun at the same time. I've only read 2 of Joan Lowery Nixon's books, but I highly recommend them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great book I've only read 2 of her books but love them they are great.I never guesed the bad guy she really discises the truth till the end you should read it if you like this author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think it is a good book for teenagers. It was a very suspenseful book. It makes you think that he is the one that is doing it. That's all I have to say about the book Don't Scream.