Dog Man Star [2011 2CD/1DVD]

Dog Man Star [2011 2CD/1DVD]

by SuedeSuede


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Instead of following through on the Bowie-esque glam stomps of their debut, Suede concentrated on their darker, more melodramatic tendencies on their ambitious second album, Dog Man Star. By all accounts, the recording of Dog Man Star was plagued with difficulties -- Brett Anderson wrote the lyrics in a druggy haze while sequestered in a secluded Victorian mansion, while Bernard Butler left before the album was completed -- which makes its singular vision all the more remarkable. Lacking any rocker on the level of "The Drowners" or "Metal Mickey" -- only the crunching "This Hollywood Life" comes close -- Dog Man Star is a self-indulgent and pretentious album of dark, string-drenched epics. But Suede are one of the few bands who wear pretensions well, and after a few listens, the album becomes thoroughly compelling. Nearly every song on the record is hazy, feverish, and heartbroken, and even the rockers have an insular, paranoid tenor that heightens the album's melancholy. The whole record would have collapsed underneath its own intentions if Butler's compositional skills weren't so subtly nuanced and if Anderson's grandiose poetry wasn't so strangely affecting. As it stands, Dog Man Star is a strangely seductive record, filled with remarkable musical peaks, from the Bowie-esque stomp of "New Generation" to the stately ballads "The Wild Ones" and "Still Life," which are both reminiscent of Scott Walker. And while Suede may choose to wear their influences on their sleeve, they synthesize them in a totally original way, making Dog Man Star a singularly tragic and romantic album. [Edsel's 2011 expansion of Dog Man Star is as generous as their reissue of the debut, featuring two full CDs and an accompanying DVD. On the first disc is a remastered version of the album expanded by five four-track demos: early versions of "Introducing the Band," "The Wild Ones," "Heroine," "The Power" and "The 2 of Us." The second disc contains the album's non-LP B-sides plus the "Stay Together" single, released prior to the album, then six demos and outtakes, including unedited versions of "The Wild Ones" and "The Asphalt World" and the unreleased "We Believe in Showbiz." The DVD contains a full concert from Paris in November 1993 and a four-song set from that same day, the nine tour films accompanying the album, a new interview with Brett Anderson and Bernard Butler, and the "Stay Together" video (although the videos for the album's other singles are curiously missing).]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2011
Label: Edsel Records
UPC: 0740155800239
catalogNumber: 5580023
Rank: 32826


Disc 1

  1. Introducing the Band
  2. We Are the Pigs
  3. Heroine
  4. The Wild Ones
  5. Daddy's Speeding
  6. The Power
  7. New Generation
  8. This Hollywood Life
  9. The 2 of Us
  10. Black or Blue
  11. The Asphalt World
  12. Still Life
  13. Squidgy Bun (Introducing the Band)
  14. Ken (The Wild Ones)
  15. A Man's Song (Heroine)
  16. Banana Youth (The Power)
  17. The 2 of Us

Disc 2

  1. My Dark Star
  2. The Living Dead
  3. Stay Together
  4. Killing of a Flash Boy
  5. Whipsnade
  6. This World Needs a Father
  7. Modern Boys
  8. Eno's Introducing the Band
  9. La Puissance
  10. The Living Dead
  11. We Believe in Showbiz
  12. Still Life
  13. The Wild Ones
  14. The Asphalt World

Disc 3

  1. Stay Together
  2. Heroine
  3. We Are the Pigs
  4. The 2 of Us
  5. Killing of a Flash Boy
  6. Pantomime Horse
  7. The Asphalt World
  8. This Hollywood Life
  9. The Wild Ones
  10. Still Life
  11. The Drowners
  12. This Hollywood Life
  13. We Are the Pigs
  14. Metal Mickey
  15. My Insatiable One
  16. Animal Nitrate
  17. New Generation
  18. So Young
  19. Sleeping Pills
  20. Stay Together
  21. Dolly
  22. High Rising
  23. Animal Nitrate
  24. Still Life
  25. Brett Anderson and Bernard Butler 2011 Interview

Album Credits

Performance Credits

London Suede   Primary Artist
Andrew Cronshaw   Cimbalom,Bawu
Brett Anderson   Vocals
Simon Clarke   Trumpet
Richard Edwards   Trombone
Brian Gascoigne   Conductor
Simon Gilbert   Drums
Roddy Lorimer   Flute,Saxophone
Tessa Niles   Vocals
Mat Osman   Electric Bass
Phil Overhead   Percussion
Sinfonia of London Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Tricycle Theatre Workshop   Children's Voices

Technical Credits

Brett Anderson   Composer,Liner Notes,Art Direction,Sleeve Idea
Ed Buller   Producer,Engineer
Bernard Butler   Composer
Brian Gascoigne   Arranger
Simon Gilbert   Filmmaker
Jools   Packaging
Gary Stout   Engineer
Brian Cannon   Sleeve Design
Andy Crabb   Director
Val Jennings   Interviewer
Karen Davies   Sleeve Coordinator
David Lewis   Director
Cheerful Scout   Authoring
Johnny Ogle   Camera Operator,Authoring
Alan Fisher   Filmmaker
Joanne Leonard   Sleeve Photo
Jon Klein   Director

Customer Reviews