Do What You Want, Be What You Are

Do What You Want, Be What You Are

by Daryl Hall & John OatesDaryl Hall & John Oates


$49.69 $49.99 Save 1% Current price is $49.69, Original price is $49.99. You Save 1%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


It's telling that Do What You Want Be What You Are, Sony/Legacy's comprehensive, career-spanning Daryl Hall and John Oates box set, takes its title from a moderately successful mid-'70s single from the duo, written and recorded just as the group was hitting their creative stride. The slow Philly groove of "Do What You Want Be Who You Are" may have hearkened back to the duo's soul roots, side-stepping some of the outré pop experiments they had done just two years earlier on War Babies, but Hall & Oates took the title's sentiment to heart, blurring boundaries between rock, pop, and soul in a way that wasn't always easy to appreciate at the peak of their popularity in the '80s. During that decade, Hall & Oates were omnipresent, seemingly dominating every radio format and MTV, racking up so many hits that it was easy to overlook how "Private Eyes" wore bright, angular new wave threads, or how "I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)" pulsated on electronic rhythms, not to mention the duo's earliest folk-rock records. Do What You Want brings all this into perspective, rounding up all the group's big hits and sharply selected album tracks, enhancing the canon with several rarities ranging from early singles (Hall as a member of the Temptones, Oates as one of the Masters) to a host of live cuts from throughout the years. Many of the live tracks are mildly revelatory -- particularly the lengthy stretch of War Babies material at the end of disc one, which diminishes the Todd Rundgren influence and emphasizes Hall & Oates' muscular melodicism -- as the group's forté was within the studio, where they set the sounds of the time, from the lush early '70s to the synthesized '80s. This, too, is where the box shines, when it traces the duo's remarkable, restless progression from Whole Oates to Big Bam Boom, a narrative that takes up the first three discs of the four-disc set. Like many career-spanning boxes, this does lose a little momentum on the last disc, when the hits start to slow down, but by smartly balancing outtakes and unreleased concert cuts, this final disc makes a convincing argument for Hall & Oates' enduring strengths adding a fitting coda to a box that stands as a testament to the duo's considerable musical legacy.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/13/2009
Label: Rca
UPC: 0886973697429
catalogNumber: 736974
Rank: 108539


Disc 1

  1. Girl I Love You
  2. I Need Your Love
  3. Say These Words of Love
  4. Perkiomen
  5. I'm Sorry
  6. Fall in Philadelphia
  7. Waterwheel
  8. Lilly (Are You Happy)
  9. Had I Known You Better Then
  10. Las Vegas Turnaround
  11. She's Gone
  12. You're Much Too Soon
  13. Is It a Star
  14. It's Uncanny
  15. Love You Like a Brother
  16. Lady Rain
  17. Beanie G. and the Rose Tattoo
  18. Better Watch Your Back
  19. Abandoned Luncheonette
  20. When the Morning Comes

Disc 2

  1. Camellia
  2. Sara Smile
  3. Alone Too Long
  4. Gino (The Manager)
  5. Ennui on the Mountain
  6. Out of Me, Out of You
  7. Back Together Again
  8. Rich Girl
  9. Crazy Eyes
  10. Have I Been Away Too Long
  11. August Day
  12. It's a Laugh
  13. I Don't Wanna Lose You
  14. Wait for Me
  15. Time's Up (Alone Tonight)
  16. The Woman Comes and Goes
  17. How Does It Feel to Be Back
  18. You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling
  19. Kiss on My List
  20. Everytime You Go Away

Disc 3

  1. You Make My Dreams
  2. Private Eyes
  3. Head Above Water
  4. Did It in a Minute
  5. Your Imagination
  6. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)
  7. Don't Go Out
  8. Maneater
  9. Family Man
  10. One on One
  11. Go Solo
  12. Say It Isn't So
  13. Adult Education
  14. Out of Touch
  15. Method of Modern Love
  16. Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
  17. Possession Obsession
  18. A Nite at the Apollo Live! The Way You Do the Things You Do/My Girl [7" V

Disc 4

  1. Everything Your Heart Desires
  2. Missed Opportunity
  3. Keep on Pushin' Love
  4. Storm Warning
  5. Change of Season
  6. Starting All Over Again
  7. So Close
  8. Do It for Love
  9. Forever for You
  10. Heartbreak Time
  11. All the Way from Philadelphia
  12. Have You Ever Been in Love
  13. Me and Mrs. Jones
  14. I Want Someone
  15. Do What You Want Be What You Are
  16. Dreamer

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Daryl Hall & John Oates   Primary Artist
Mike Hickey   Guitar

Technical Credits

Mike Oldfield   Composer
Paul Pesco   Composer
Todd Rundgren   Producer
Daryl Hall   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer
Janna Allen   Composer
Christopher Bond   Arranger,Producer
Jimmy Bralower   drum programming
Bob Clearmountain   Producer,Remixing
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Cary Gilbert   Composer
George Green   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Neil Kernon   Producer
Arif Mardin   Producer
Bob Mayo   Composer
Peter Moshay   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
John Oates   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Brian Rawling   Producer
Andy Sheppard   Producer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Don York   Arranger
Carl Fisher   Composer
Deanie Parker   Composer
Phillip Mitchell   Composer
Ken Sharp   Liner Notes
Billy Mann   Composer
William Paden Hensley   Engineer
Sean McClintock   Engineer
Tom Nichols   Composer
Anders "Bag" Bagge   Composer
Pat Collins   Composer
Ken Gioia   Producer
Steve Torch   Composer,Producer
Sara Allen   Composer
Estelle Axton   Composer
Barry Glazer   Composer
Warren Pash   Composer
T-Bone Wolk   Arranger,Producer
Paul Barry   Composer
Laila Bagge   Composer
Carl Fisher   Composer
R. White   Composer
R. Rogers   Composer
Jimmy Bishop   Producer

Customer Reviews