Disco Connection

Disco Connection

by The Isaac Hayes MovementThe Isaac Hayes Movement


$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Appearing under the aegis of Isaac Hayes Movement, 1975's instrumental Disco Connection was sandwiched in between the mightily successful Chocolate Chip and the tongue-in-cheeky Groove-a-Thon, outstanding albums which defined Hayes' mid-'70s sound. Disco Connection, however, foundered in comparison, but still proved a hit with the fans, easily slipping into the Top 20 early in 1976. Focusing on groovy brass and blistering guitars, the album is best represented by the title track, which is an up-tempo disco jam punctuated by Charles Pitts' mighty picking and sweeping strings. "Disco Shuffle," meanwhile, slows the pace but repeats the beats, again augmented by some fierce guitar. Elsewhere, and especially on "Aruba" and "St. Thomas Square," the set slides effortlessly into Hayes' unmistakably classic instrumental arrangements, which are so definitive and derivative of that era. Disco Connection remains largely forgotten, though, as Hayes' style slipped in and out of fashion. This LP in particular was perhaps a little too easy on the ear with its light sounds and the lack of a blockbuster hit. But while it's true that there are far finer ways to experience Hayes in all his glory, Disco Connection remains a slick reminder of the finesse which drove the simple arrangements of guitar, strings, and brass to such sweeping ends.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667073325
catalogNumber: 5023510
Rank: 41459

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Isaac Hayes Movement   Primary Artist
Ben Cauley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Richard Dolph   French Horn
Bill Flores   Trombone
Isaac Hayes   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Willie Hall   Drums,Tambourine
Sidney Kirk   Keyboards
Edgar Matthews   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bryant Munch   French Horn
Floyd Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Gary Russell   Bass Trombone
Anthony Shinault   Soloist
Darnell Smith   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Lester Snell   Keyboards
William Taylor   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Erroll Thomas   Bass Guitar
Jimmy Thompson   Conga
Michael Toles   Guitar
William Vaughn   Guitar
Tommy Williams   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Jackie Thomas   Trombone
Johnny Davis   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Willie Cole   Drums,Tambourine,Temple Blocks
Charles Pitts   Guitar

Technical Credits

Johnny Allen   Arranger
Isaac Hayes   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Lester Snell   Arranger
Roosevelt Green   Engineer
Tony Rounce   Liner Notes
Tom Wilkes   Art Direction
Ron Slenzak   Back Cover Photo
Olivier Ferrand   Cover Photo
Henry Bush   Engineer

Customer Reviews