Devotion: Songs About Rivers and Spirits and Children

Devotion: Songs About Rivers and Spirits and Children

by Hiss Golden MessengerHiss Golden Messenger


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2018
Label: Merge Records
UPC: 0673855065526
catalogNumber: 655
Rank: 116135


Disc 1

  1. Balthazar's Song
  2. No Lord Is Free
  3. Bad Debt
  4. O Little Light
  5. Straw Man Red Sun River Gold
  6. Far Bright Star
  7. The Serpent Is Kind (Compared to Man)
  8. A Call Him Daylight
  9. Jesus Shot Me in the Head
  10. Super Blue (Two Days Clean)
  11. Roll River Roll
  12. Drum

Disc 2

  1. Blue Country Mystic
  2. The Call Him Daylight
  3. Drummer Down
  4. Under All the Land
  5. Westering
  6. Pittsboro Farewell (Two Monarchs)
  7. Super Blue (Two Days Clean)
  8. Jesus Shot Me in the Head
  9. O Little Light
  10. A Working Man Can't Make It No Way
  11. Dreamwood
  12. Balthazar's Song

Disc 3

  1. Red Rose Nantahala
  2. The Sufferer (Love My Conqueror)
  3. I've Got a Name for the Newborn Child
  4. Hat of Rain
  5. Devotion
  6. The Serpent Is Kind (Compared to Man)
  7. Sweet as John Hurt
  8. Cheerwine Easter
  9. Hark Maker (Glory Rag)
  10. Busted Note
  11. What Shall Be (Shall Be Enough)

Disc 4

  1. Rock Holy
  2. Black Country Woman
  3. Joyce & Joel
  4. Lion/Lamb
  5. Father Sky
  6. Issa
  7. Back to the River Again
  8. The Tell Everyone
  9. Karen's Blues
  10. The Revenant
  11. Hard Promises

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hiss Golden Messenger   Primary Artist
Dennis Taylor   Vocal Harmony
Elizabeth Taylor   Vocal Harmony
M.C. Taylor   Guitar,Mandolin
Scott Hirsch   Mandolin,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Alex Wurmbrand   Violin
Brevan Hampden   Percussion,Conga
William Tyler   Electric Guitar
Stephanie Coleman   Fiddle
Matt Douglas   Flute,Electric Piano,Saxophone,Wurlitzer
Matt McCaughan   Percussion,Drums
Chris Boerner   Bass Guitar
Yair Evnine   Guitar,Cello
Nathan Bowles   Banjo
Mark Paulson   Strings
Crowmeat Bob Pence   Saxophone
Hans Chew   Piano
Terry Lonergan   Percussion,Drums
Matt Cunitz   Piano,Celeste,Gong,Harmonium,Hammond Organ,Clavinet,Mellotron,Vibes,Pump Organ,fender rhodes,Vox Continental,Hammond B3
Andrew Marlin   Mandolin
Brad Cook   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Corinne Olsen   Viola
Erick Clark   Violin
Joseph Decosimo   Fiddle
Phil Cook   Banjo,Piano,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Electric Piano,Vocals,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Tamisha Waden   Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael Hurley   Composer
Jimmy Page   Composer
Robert Plant   Composer
Ronnie Lane   Composer
Mirla del Rosario   Package Production
M.C. Taylor   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Inside Photo
Scott Hirsch   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Daniel Murphy   Package Production
Brian Haran   Engineer
Chris Boerner   Engineer
Katy Clove   Package Production
Mark Paulson   Arranger
Sam Smith   Artwork,Layout
Graham Taylor   String Arrangements
Loney Hutchings   Engineer

Customer Reviews