Dev'lish Mary

Dev'lish Mary

by The Hot Club of CowtownThe Hot Club of Cowtown


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


On their third album, Hot Club of Cowtown expanded their lineup to three with the addition of Matt Weiner on bass and vocals. It's such an accomplished blend of Western swing, bluegrass, and Django Reinhardt-styled jazz that it comes as no surprise to read that they'd already been featured on NPR's All Things Considered, Prairie Home Companion, and Mountain Stage. Generally that should be taken as a compliment, but it also implies a certain predictably well-executed brand of revivalism. The group isn't adding touches of their own that make heads spin, but for those that like one or more of the styles they mix, they are good instrumentalists that play extremely well, with a good sense of verve and swing. Both instrumentals and vocals feature on this 16-song set, which has just a couple of original tunes; they're certainly better players than they are singers, though the singing is serviceable. Produced by Lloyd Maines, famed for his work with Texas country-folk rockers like Jimmie Dale Gilmore and Joe Ely.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/05/2000
Label: Hightone Records
UPC: 0012928812429
catalogNumber: 8124
Rank: 126827


  1. Devil's Dream
  2. Dev'lish Mary
  3. When Day Is Done
  4. It's My Lazy Day
  5. Stardust
  6. Exactly Like You
  7. Just a Little Lovin'
  8. Tchavolo Swing
  9. I'd Understand Why
  10. When the Bloom Is on the Sage
  11. More Than a Dream
  12. Wild Dog
  13. You Don't Care What Happens to Me
  14. Way Down Yonder in the Cornfield
  15. My Life's Been a Pleasure
  16. Li'l Liza Jane

Album Credits

Customer Reviews