Devil's Choice

Devil's Choice

by Graham Wilson

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


A parents worst nightmare. A small child with an incurable disease and a father who served in Vietnam and blames himself for her illness. The family is torn apart. Finally only one choice remains to save the daughter's life, a Devil's Choice.

The time is in the 1980s. Catherine, Lizzie's daughter has returned to Sydney to study. She now lives in Balmain, near where her mother grew up. She settles into life there, establishes a successful career and marries. Then she has a daughter who is the joy of both her and her husband's lives.

But when her daughter is two years old the unimaginable happens. Her daughter develops an incurable disease, advanced leukaemia. Other treatments fail. Now the only option to save her daughters life is a bone marrow transplant. They search desperately for a donor to match. But no one is found. Her daughter has an unusual tissue profile that seems to come from her Catherine's own father.

But who is her father? Catherine was conceived when her mother was raped by three men. Two of the three men who raped her mother are now in jail, destined to spend the most of their life there. The third is dead.

Can Catherine bear to make the choice and bring herself to appeal to one of these men in an attempt to save her daughter's life when she knows that even this may be futile.

This is the third novel in "The Old Balmain House" Series. Novel two, Lizzie's Tale,tells the story of Lizzie a girl from Balmain and her struggle to keep her own daughter when pregnant at only 15 and the terrible choices she must make. This book.continues the family's story into a third generation.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154594636
Publisher: Graham Wilson
Publication date: 10/19/2017
Series: Old Balmain House - Second Edition , #3
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 330,328
File size: 361 KB

About the Author

Graham Wilson lives in Sydney Australia. He has completed and published nine separate books, and also a range of combined novel box sets from 2012 -2015. He is now making substantial revisions to these books based on editor and reader reviews. These second edition novels will be published here. Over time he is also seeking to publish the works of others who are seeking a platform for their books. Graham's books comprise two series, 1. The Old Balmain House Series 2. The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series along with a family memoir. Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope The first series starts with a novel called The Old Balmain House, based on an old a weatherboard cottage in Sydney where the author lived. Here a photo was discovered of a small girl who lived and died about 100 years ago. The book imagines the story of her life and family, based in the real Balmain, an early inner Sydney suburb, with it's locations and historical events providing part of the story background. The second novel in this series, Lizzie's Tale builds on The Old Balmain House setting, It is the story of a working class teenage girl who lives in this same house in the 1950s and 1960s, It tells of how, when she becomes pregnant she is determined not to surrender her baby for adoption, and of her struggle to survive in this unforgiving society. The third novel in this series, Devil's Choice, follows the next generation of the family in Lizzie's Tale. Lizzie's daughter is faced with the awful choice of whether to seek the help of one of her mother's rapists' in trying to save the life of her own daughter who is inflicted with an incurable disease. The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series comprises five novels based in Outback Australia. The first novel Just Visiting. tells the story of an English backpacker, Susan, who visits the Northern Territory and becomes captivated and in great danger from a man who loves crocodiles. The second book in the series, Creature of an Ancient Dreaming, (previously The Diary), follows the consequences of the first book based around the discovery of this man's remains and his diary and Susan, being placed on trial for murder. The third book, The Empty Place, is about Susan's struggle to retain her sanity in jail while her family and friends desperately try to find out what really happened on that fateful day before it is too late. In Lost Girls Susan vanishes and it tells the story of the search for her and four other lost girls whose passports were found in the possession of the man she killed. The final book in the series, Sunlit Shadow Dance is the story of a girl who appears in a remote aboriginal community in North Queensland, without any memory except for a name. It tells how she rebuilds her life from an empty shell and how, as fragments of the past return, with them come dark shadows that threaten to overwhelm her. The book, Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope, is the story of the author's own life in the Northern Territory. It tells of his childhood in an aboriginal community in remote Arnhem Land, in Australia's Northern Territory, one of its last frontiers. It tells of the people, danger and beauty of this place, and of its transformation over the last half century with the coming of aboriginal rights and the discovery or uranium. It also tells of his surviving an attack by a large crocodile and his working for two decades in the outback of the NT.

Table of Contents


Prologue 8

William 10

Chapter 1 - Ten Years Alone 10

Chapter 2 - Boredom 16

Chapter 3 - Beginning to Learn 19

Catherine 25

Chapter 4- Six Years Earlier : Sydney School 25

Chapter 5 - The New Barmaid 35

Chapter 6 - An Uncertain Future 47

Chapter 7 - Tremors 53

Chapter 8 - Wedding 64

Chapter 9 - A Business Together 69

Chapter 10 - A Perfect Child 71

Chapter 11 - A Busy Year 74

Chapter 12 - More Tremors 77

Chapter 13 - Beginning Again 86

Chapter 14 - The Birthday Girl 91

Chapter 15 - Lumps 93

Chapter 16 - The Dreaded Word 101

Chapter 17 - Treatment 108

Chapter 18 - A Month Gone - Hope 111

Chapter 19 - Failure 113

Chapter 20 - Fading Hope 117

Chapter 21 - Madness 120

Chapter 22 - Last Chance – A Transplant 133

Chapter 23 - Donor Required 141

Chapter 24 - Search for a Father 145

Chapter 25 - First Meeting 150

Chapter 26 - Second Meeting 155

Chapter 27 - Moment of Truth 161

Chapter 28 - Mathew 168

Chapter 29 - A Chance 171

Chapter 30 - Last Roll of the Dice 175

Chapter 31 - Late in the Night 180

Chapter 32 - A Month Later 185

Chapter 33 - Thank you from Amelie and Sophie. 191

Chapter 34 - Ten Years Later 193

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Devil's Choice 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story, so moving
AmandaR1 More than 1 year ago
Totally agree with Jmm44. Wonderful book and very moving, yes I would give six stars too
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's not often a book will bring actual tears to my eyes but this one did as well as kept me up way past my bedtime. If it does not touch you similiarly I would be very surprised!!!