Detroit Rock City: The Uncensored History of Rock 'n' Roll in America's Loudest City

Detroit Rock City: The Uncensored History of Rock 'n' Roll in America's Loudest City

by Steven Miller

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Detroit Rock City is an oral history of Detroit and its music told by the people who were on the stage, in the clubs, the practice rooms, studios, and in the audience, blasting the music out and soaking it up, in every scene from 1967 to today.

From fabled axe men like Ted Nugent, Dick Wagner, and James Williamson jump to Jack White, to pop flashes Suzi Quatro and Andrew W.K., to proto punkers Brother Wayne Kramer and Iggy Pop, Detroit slices the rest of the land with way more than its share of the Rock Pie.

Detroit Rock City is the story that has never before been sprung, a frenzied and schooled account of both past and present, calling in the halcyon days of the Grande Ballroom and the Eastown Theater, where national acts who came thru were made to stand and deliver in the face of the always hard hitting local support acts. It moves on to the Michigan Palace, Bookies Club 870, City Club, Gold Dollar, and Magic Stick -- all magical venues in America's top rock city.

Detroit Rock City brings these worlds to life all from the guys and dolls who picked up a Strat and jammed it into our collective craniums. From those behind the scenes cats who promoted, cajoled, lost their shirts, and popped the platters to the punters who drove from everywhere, this is the book that gives life to Detroit's legend of loud.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780306821844
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication date: 06/25/2013
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 677,302
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Steve Miller has been a journalist for more than twenty years, writing abut crime, culture, and the world at large. His work has appeared in People, U.S. News & World Report, the Daily Beast, High Times, the Dallas Morning News, and numerous other newspapers, websites, and magazines. He's the editor/author of several music and true crime books, including Detroit Rock City: The Uncensored History of Rock 'n' Roll in America's Loudest City, and is an Edgar Award finalist for his true crime work.

Table of Contents

Introduction vii

Act I Black Sheep (1965-1972)

Respect 3

Playground of Noise 10

"You Can't Be a Leader on LSD" 24

"Mitch Ryder, Eat Shit" 27

"I'm No Statesman, I'm No General" 37

"They Didn't Call Them the Stooges for Nothing" 41

Riots in the Motor City 56

Here's New Pretties for You 61

America's Only Rock 'n' Roll Magazine 68

"What Happens in Detroit Stays in Detroit" 76

In Detroit, Woodstock Was the Weak Shit 84

"We Weren't Musicians, We Were Like an Outlaw Bike Club" 91

Drugs Hate You 98

Act II Gimme Some Action (1973-1981)

New York: "None of These People Have Seen Shit" 105

Stranglehold 111

Mongrel 118

Creem: "They're No Good Since Lester Bangs Left" 129

You're Gonna Die 138

Sweet Nothin' 147

Nothin' to Do in Detroit 155

The Voice Box and First in Line 163

No Hands Clapping 172

"You're Not Punk Rock" 190

Act III The Big Three Killed My Baby (1981-2000)

Vengeance 203

Face Forward 212

Punk Rock Sucks 215

Don Kirshner of Detroit 219

Mutiny in Hardcore 221

You Just Can't Win 227

MC5: Are They from Detroit? Fresh Blood and Garage Innocence 233

Cool American 242

"Warm Beer and Bestiality Go Together" 246

I'm Hell 251

On the Corner 257

The Same Boy You've Always Known 277

"It Was Raining Faggots on Me" 289

Devil with a Cause 294

Aspiring and Achieving Lowly Dreams 297

Acknowledgments 303

The Players 304

Customer Reviews