Delta Blues [2003]

Delta Blues [2003]

by Son HouseSon House




This single-disc set collects Son House's Library of Congress sessions for Alan Lomax in 1940 and 1941, and House's huge rasping voice and vibrant slide guitar style are everywhere here, both on the solo selections and on a handful of African-American string band pieces that find friends Leroy Williams (harmonica), Fiddlin' Joe Martin (mandolin), and Willie Brown (guitar) lending a hand. These intimate field recordings, which were tracked at Clack's Store near Cormorant, Mississippi, combined with House's complete Paramount recordings from 1930, which amounted to three brilliant double-sided 78s ("My Black Mama," "Preachin' the Blues," and "Dry Spell Blues"), form the true heart of House's recorded legacy, since his rediscovery sides for Columbia in the '60s catch him, quite honestly, with diminishing powers. Catfish Records got it exactly right by combining everything here with House's powerfully dynamic Paramount 78s for 2000s Preachin' the Blues collection, and it remains the only truly essential Son House purchase.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2003
Label: Shout Factory
UPC: 0826663017021
catalogNumber: 30170


  1. Delta Blues
  2. Government Fleet Blues
  3. Walking Blues
  4. Shetland Pony Blues
  5. Levee Camp Blues
  6. Special Rider Blues
  7. Low Down Dirty Dog Blues
  8. Depot Blues
  9. American Defense
  10. Am I Right or Wrong
  11. Walking Blues
  12. Country Farm Blues
  13. The Pony Blues
  14. The Jinx Blues
  15. The Jinx Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews