Delphi Masterworks of Richard Wagner (Illustrated)

Delphi Masterworks of Richard Wagner (Illustrated)

by Peter Russell, Richard Wagner

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The operas of the German composer Richard Wagner had a revolutionary influence on the course of Western music. Unlike most opera composers, Wagner wrote both the libretto and the music for each of his works. He went on to revolutionise the music form through his concept of the Gesamtkunstwerk (total work of art), by which he sought to synthesise the poetic, visual, musical and dramatic arts, with music subsidiary to drama. He achieved these ideas most fully in his epic cycle of operas 'Der Ring des Nibelungen', notable for complex textures, rich harmonies and the elaborate use of leitmotifs. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Wagner’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus features. (Version 1)

* Concise and informative overview of Wagner’s masterworks

* Learn about the operas that made Wagner a celebrated composer

* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you’re reading about

* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Wagner’s complete works and links to streaming services

* English translations of the librettos for the major operas, including works appearing for the first time in digital print

* A wide selection of the composer’s prose works, including fiction, pioneering essays and Wagner’s celebrated autobiography

* Includes Wagner’s letters to Franz Liszt — explore the composer’s personal correspondence

* Features six biographies on the great composer — explore Wagner's intriguing musical and personal life

Please visit to browse through our range of exciting eBooks


The Masterworks

Symphony in C Major

Das Liebesverbot

Faust Overture


Der fliegende Holländer



Das Rhinegold

Die Walküre

Tristan und Isolde

Wesendonck Lieder

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg


Siegfried Idyll



Complete Compositions

Index of Wagner’s Compositions

Selected Librettos

Der fliegende Holländer


Das Rhinegold

Die Walküre

Tristan und Isolde




Selected Prose

Autobiographic Sketch

On German Opera

Art and Revolution

The Art-Work of the Future

Judaism in Music

A Communication to My Friends

Opera and Drama


What is German?

An End in Paris

On Conducting

Religion and Art

The Letters

Correspondence of Wagner and Liszt

The Autobiography

My Life

The Biographies

Richard Wagner: His Life and His Dramas by W. J. Henderson

Life of Wagner by Ludwig Nohl

Richard Wagner, Composer of Operas by John F. Runciman

Wagner by Paul Rosenfeld

Wagner as I Knew Him by Ferdinand Praeger

Richard Wagner by Rupert Hughes

Please visit to learn more about our wide range of exciting titles

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786564023
Publisher: Delphi Classics Ltd
Publication date: 08/15/2018
Series: Delphi Great Composers , #6
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 3953
Sales rank: 418,317
File size: 49 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews