Delphi Collected Works of J. S. Fletcher US (Illustrated)

Delphi Collected Works of J. S. Fletcher US (Illustrated)

by J. S. Fletcher, Delphi Classics

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Although little known today, the English novelist J. S. Fletcher was one of the highest selling writers of the early twentieth century. He wrote more than 230 books covering a range of genres and subjects, including social dramas, exciting thrillers and celebrated historical novels. It is as a pioneering writer of detective fiction that he is being reappraised in the twenty-first century, recognising his important contribution to the development of the genre. Gripping novels like ‘The Middle Temple Murder’ and ‘The Charing Cross Mystery’ are renowned for their complicated, intelligently structured plots, colourful characterisation and unputdownable events. This comprehensive collection presents J. S. Fletcher's collected works, with numerous illustrations, many rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Fletcher’s life and works
* Concise introductions to the major novels
* 30 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing, including his almost lost first two novels, ‘Frank Carisbroke’s Stratagem’ and ‘Andrewlina’
* Fletcher's very rare and compelling historical novel 'When Charles the First Was King', appearing here for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare story collections
* Includes Fletcher’s rare poetry collections – available in no other collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please visit to browse through our range of titles


The Novels
Frank Carisbroke’s Stratagem (1888)
Andrewlina (1889)
Mr. Spivey’s Clerk (1890)
When Charles the First Was King (1892)
In the Days of Drake (1895)
Where Highways Cross (1895)
Mistress Spitfire (1896)
Baden Powell of Mafeking (1900)
Lucian the Dreamer (1903)
Perris of the Cherry-Trees (1913)
The King versus Wargrave (1915)
The Rayner-Slade Amalgamation (1917)
Paul Campenhaye (1918)
The Chestermarke Instinct (1918)
The Borough Treasurer (1919)
The Middle Temple Murder (1919)
The Talleyrand Maxim (1919)
Scarhaven Keep (1920)
The Herapath Property (1920)
The Lost Mr. Linthwaite (1920)
The Orange-Yellow Diamond (1920)
The Markenmore Mystery (1921)
The Root of All Evil (1921)
Wrychester Paradise (1921)
In the Mayor’s Parlour (1922)
Ravensdene Court (1922)
The Middle of Things (1922)
The Charing Cross Mystery (1923)
The Kang-He Vase (1924)
The Safety Pin (1924)

The Shorter Fiction
Mr. Poskitt’s Nightcaps (1910)
The Secret of the Barbican and Other Stories (1924)
Miscellaneous Stories

The Poetry Collections
The Juvenile Poems of Joseph S. Fletcher (1879)
Early Poems by Joseph Smith Fletcher (1882)
Anima Christi (1884)

Please visit to browse through our range of titles or to purchase this eBook as a Parts Edition of individual eBooks

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781913487195
Publisher: Delphi Classics Ltd
Publication date: 04/02/2020
Series: Delphi Series Ten , #25
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 6549
Sales rank: 877,352
File size: 13 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews