by Groove CollectiveGroove Collective


$19.34 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.34, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


Groove Collective's completely uninhibited, party-based jazz-funk is inspired by Sly Stone, acid jazz, hip-hop, salsa, Stevie Wonder, drum'n'bass, Parliament-Funkadelic, Fania -- that is, anything or anyone from the late '60s on who knew how to get down. Their fourth album overall finds the congregation in a most jubilant mood, happy to simply stretch out on a series of infectious singalong jams, starting with the openers "Up All Night" (which trades honking sax solos with some great stuttered drum programming) and "Everything Is Changing" (a shuffling disco stomp). With no less than 14 pieces in the group, it's obvious that Groove Collective shouldn't have any trouble filling spaces, and truth to tell, just about every song on Declassified bristles with so many ideas, solos, and licks that listeners may get dizzy without a few listens under their belt. "On a Feeling," the spotlight for rapper Nappy G, isn't exactly the tightest hip-hop joint ever heard, but the sheer instrumental and musical prowess abundant all over this album makes it a joy for all to hear.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/20/1999
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351505828
catalogNumber: 5058
Rank: 130876


  1. Up All Night
  2. Everything Is Changing
  3. On a Feeling
  4. Some People
  5. Valiha
  6. Undercover Life
  7. Guararumba
  8. Crisis
  9. End Transmission
  10. Sabrosona
  11. Nature of a Freak
  12. Triage
  13. Martha My Dear
  14. Sabrosona (Reprise)
  15. Mrs. Strangelove

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Groove Collective   Primary Artist
Fabio Morgera   Trumpet
Bill Ware   Vocals,Background Vocals
Dave Jensen   Tenor Saxophone
Itaal Shur   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Genji Siraisi   Synthesizer,Drums,Vocals,Valiha
Richard Worth   Flute,Vocals
Eddie Bobe   Percussion,Vocals
Jay Rodriguez   Flute,Saxophone,Vocals
Barney McAll   Keyboards
Chris Theberge   Conga,Drums,Bells,Bata
Mark Anthony Jones   Guitar,Vocals
Lucy Woodward   Vocals

Technical Credits

Groove Collective   Producer
Vicki Bell   Engineer
Jonathan Maron   Contributor
Itaal Shur   Programming,Producer
Genji Siraisi   Producer
Richard Worth   Director
Josh Roseman   Contributor
Hiroyuki Sanada   Engineer
Danny Weiss   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews