Decade [3LP]

Decade [3LP]

by Neil Young

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$35.14 $36.99 Save 5% Current price is $35.14, Original price is $36.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21


Given the quirkiness of Neil Young's recording career, with its frequent cancellations of releases and last-minute rearrangements of material, it is a relief to report that this two-disc compilation is so conventional and so satisfying. A 35-track selection of the best of Young's work between 1966 and 1976, it includes songs performed by Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and the Stills-Young Band, as well as solo work. In addition to five unreleased songs, Decade offers such key tracks as the Springfield's "Mr. Soul," "Broken Arrow," and "I Am a Child"; "Sugar Mountain," a song that had appeared only as a single before; "Cinnamon Girl," "Down by the River," and "Cowgirl in the Sand" from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere; "Southern Man" and the title track from After the Gold Rush; and "Old Man" and the chart-topping "Heart of Gold" from Harvest. This is the material that built Young's reputation between 1966 and 1972, although he is more idiosyncratic with the later material, including the blockbusters "Like a Hurricane" and "Cortez the Killer" but mixing in more unreleased recordings as the set draws to a close. He seems intent on making the album a listenable one that will appeal to a broad base of fans, and he succeeds despite the exclusion of much of the harrowing work of 1973-1975. Nevertheless, the album is an ideal sampler for new listeners, and since there is no one-disc Young compilation covering any significant portion of his career, this lengthy chronicle is the place to start. [A triple-LP vinyl edition of Decade was released in 2017.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2017
Label: Reprise / Wea
UPC: 0093624915461
catalogNumber: 558030
Rank: 14035


Disc 1

  1. Down to the Wire
  2. Burned
  3. Mr. Soul
  4. Broken Arrow
  5. Expecting to Fly
  6. Sugar Mountain
  7. I Am a Child
  8. The Loner
  9. The Old Laughing Lady
  10. Cinnamon Girl
  11. Down by the River

Disc 2

  1. Cowgirl in the Sand
  2. I Believe in You
  3. After the Gold Rush
  4. Southern Man
  5. Helpless
  6. Ohio
  7. Soldier
  8. Old Man
  9. A Man Needs a Maid
  10. Harvest
  11. Heart of Gold
  12. Star of Bethlehem

Disc 3

  1. The Needle and the Damage Done
  2. Tonight's the Night, Pt. 1
  3. Tired Eyes
  4. Walk On
  5. For the Turnstiles
  6. Winterlong
  7. Deep Forbidden Lake
  8. Like a Hurricane
  9. Love Is a Rose
  10. Cortez the Killer
  11. Campaigner
  12. Long May You Run

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Neil Young   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews