Dead Wood

Dead Wood

by Chris Longmuir


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Dundee International Book Prize winner 2009, a Tartan Noir crime thriller.

Award winning Scottish suspense thriller set in a dismal and dark Dundee. A mystery and detective story which is a combination of police procedural, and woman in jeopardy. Book 2 of The Dundee Crime Series, with the popular Scottish detective, DS Bill Murphy.

Kara owes money to Dundee gangster Tony and takes to the streets to earn the cash. She narrowly escapes the clutches of a killer on the prowl, but stumbles across the bodies of his other victims. Hunted by the serial killer and the gangsters, Kara goes on the run. However, one of the murder victims is Tony’s daughter, and he vows revenge. He is determined to mete out his own kind of justice to the killer and make him pay the ultimate price.

DS Bill Murphy teams up with newcomer, DC Louise Walker in the murder investigation. But Murphy’s past comes back to haunt him, and he is heading for a breakdown, which means it is up to Louise to catch the killer.

Who will find the killer first? Tony or the police. And what will happen to Kara? And in the end what kind of justice will prevail?

Chris Longmuir is an award-winning novelist as well as an established writer of short stories and articles. Night Watcher, the first book in the Dundee Crime Series, won the Scottish Association of Writers’ Pitlochry Award, and the sequel, Dead Wood, won the Dundee International Book Prize, as well as the Pitlochry Award.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780957415348
Publisher: Christina Longmuir
Publication date: 06/25/2014
Series: Dundee Crime Series , #2
Pages: 302
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.68(d)

About the Author

Chris Longmuir is an award winning novelist who has published three novels in her Dundee Crime Series. Night Watcher, the first book in the series, won the Scottish Association of Writers' Pitlochry Award, and the sequel, Dead Wood, won the Dundee International Book Prize, as well as the Pitlochry Award. Missing Believed Dead is the third book in the series. Chris has recently published the first book in a new historical crime series which features Kirsty Campbell, Dundee's first policewoman. Her next book, to be published soon, is another Kirsty Campbell mystery set during the First World War.

Her crime novels are set in Dundee, Scotland, and have been described as scary, atmospheric, page turners. Chris also writes historical sagas, short stories and historical articles which have been published in America and Britain. She has also published a historical family saga to Kindle. Writing is like an addiction to me, Chris says, I go into withdrawals without it.

Customer Reviews