Days of Gold

Days of Gold

by Jake OwenJake Owen




Jake Owen's day in the sun was a long time coming. Moderately successful from the start, he scored his first blockbuster in 2011 with Barefoot Blue Jean Night, a set of suburban country-pop so polished it gleamed. It proudly followed the path paved by Luke Bryan, a fellow country bro who appeared after Owen but quickly overshadowed him, partially because Bryan embraced every manner of revelry, right down to a series of Spring Break EPs -- a move Owen mimicked with his own Endless Summer. If Owen's approximations of Bryan seemed slightly too calculated in the crisp, computerized sheen of Barefoot Blue Jean Night, he's much more relaxed on its 2013 sequel, Days of Gold. He's happy to relax in the sun -- or, as he puts it in the corny lead single, to be "Beachin'" -- whether that means getting sleepily "Tipsy" or proclaiming that his love "Sure Feels Right," and the heavily buffered veneer has warmed just enough to let some of those bright rays inside. There's no mistaking Days of Gold for anything earthy, but this sonic thawing winds up emphasizing Owen's inherent sweetness in an appealing fashion. He may sing about beer and pump out nostalgic fantasies like "1972" -- a classic rock ode composed wholesale from newly minted retro T-shirts -- but he never seems like a swaggering, macho dude. When he sings of a broken heart -- as he does on "Life of the Party," a clever spin on his previous hit "The One That Got Away" -- the melancholy sits on the surface, but what keeps Days of Gold shining is Owen's nice, easy touch. This is a low-key summertime party where everybody is invited and the celebrations last just until sundown.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/03/2013
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888837534123
catalogNumber: 375341

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jake Owen   Primary Artist
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Audley Freed   Electric Guitar
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Tom Bukovac   Electric Guitar
Adam Shoenfeld   Electric Guitar
Jaren Johnston   Acoustic Guitar
Sarah Buxton   Background Vocals
Charlie Judge   Piano,Hammond B3
Joey Moi   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Dobro,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Joseph Arick   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Barry Dean   Composer
Jim Beavers   Composer
Zac Maloy   Composer
Casey Beathard   Composer
Monty Criswell   Composer
Neil Mason   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Chris DeStefano   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Matt Jenkins   Composer
Rodney Clawson   Executive Producer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Jeremy Stover   Composer
Travis Meadows   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Jimmy Robbins   Composer
Dallas Davidson   Composer
Charlie Judge   Programming
Joey Moi   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Trevor Rosen   Composer
Zach Crowell   Composer
Jon Nite   Composer
Travis Jerome Goff   Composer

Customer Reviews