David Johansen/Live It Up

David Johansen/Live It Up

by David Johansen


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Great Britain's venerable BGO imprint is one of the big daddies of contemporary reissues. They've been known to do entire retrospectives two albums at a time in either double- or single-CD packages. They've begun their David Johansen set with his wonderful self-titled debut album and his concert recording Live It Up, which was issued fourth. This might initially seem very strange because BGO usually issues in chronological sequence, but this was a best-of-both-worlds pairing: first, because these two recordings are well suited to one another with their rock & roll looseness; and second, the middle two albums, In Style and Here Comes the Night, are excellent as well, but they are slicker and focus on a more period-based rock & roll sound. Here, Johansen's debut sticks close to the trash and roll of his years with the New York Dolls, with tracks like "Funky But Chic," "Girls," and "Cool Metro." The latter album contains a couple of concert versions of these tunes, such as the wonderfully overdramatized "Frenchette," the street love song "Donna," and yes, "Funky But Chic." In addition, there are some terrific covers, including "We Gotta Get Out of This Place," "Build Me Up Buttercup," "Reach Out (I'll Be There)," and the Goffin & King classic "Is That What I Get for Loving You." The set is balanced with a couple of Dolls classics, and the entire thing is a riot. Add these two albums together and you have 20 tracks of pure garbage-strewn gold.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/02/2008
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261208200
catalogNumber: 820
Rank: 26007

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Johansen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Castanets,Chimes,Vocals
Joe Perry   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Nona Hendryx   Background Vocals
Sarah Dash   Background Vocals
Scarlet Rivera   Violin
Sylvain Sylvain   Guitar
Bobby Blain   Organ,Piano
Stan Bronstein   Horn
Felix Cavaliere   Organ
Charlie Giordano   Keyboards
Huw Gower   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals
Frankie La Rocka   Drums,Vocals
Gene Leppik   Vocals,Background Vocals
Tony Machine   Percussion,Drums
Johnny Rao   Guitar
Thomas Trask   Guitar
Buz Verno   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Brett Cartwright   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Dave Nelson   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
David Nelson   Guitar,Background Vocals
Jimmie Mack   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

David Johansen   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Sylvain Sylvain   Composer
Robert C. Smith   Composer
Steven Paul   Director,Direction
Jack Crymes   Engineer
Tony Machine   Tama
Ron Nevison   Producer,Audio Production
Johnny Rao   Composer
Richard Robinson   Audio Production
Jim Scott   Engineer
David Thoener   Engineer
Kate Simon   Cover Photo
Richard Robinson   Producer
Teddy Slatus   Direction
John O'Regan   Liner Notes
Gary Singleman   Engineer
Elena Pavlov   Cover Design
Shrimps   Arranger
James Johnson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews