Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures: Taken from Our Vaults, Vol. 4

Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures: Taken from Our Vaults, Vol. 4


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


The fourth and presumably final (as compiler and respected soul expert Dave Godin died around the time of its release) volume in this series has 25 more 1960s and early-'70s soul cuts from the more romantically anguished end of the style. A few of these were big hits, or well-remembered smaller ones -- it's hard to believe anyone who collects soul at all hasn't found the Miracles' "The Tracks of My Tears" by now, while Gladys Knight & the Pips' "Giving Up," Irma Thomas' "Time Is on My Side" (the model for the Rolling Stones' hit cover version), the Knight Brothers' "Temptation 'Bout to Get Me," Garnet Mimms' "My Baby," and Bobby Bland's "I Pity the Fool" are all fairly well-known quality '60s soul treasures. Most of the disc, however, is devoted to things you'll never hear on oldies radio, even including a couple of previously unissued numbers. It's varied in the approaches and arrangements employed (though it does tend toward the slower-than-normal dramatic side), and lovingly annotated. This might be a dissenting opinion in the midst of the bulging folder of glowing testimonials this series has received (particularly in Godin's native Britain), but it really doesn't quite gather music that's consistently on the level of the best vintage soul -- or even, more to the point, consistently on the level of the best overlooked vintage soul. It's an idiosyncratic reflection of one man's tastes, and while Godin should be saluted for everything he did to get these records and performers wider audiences, it's not the ultimate in deep soul treasures. Some of his personal finds seem more indisputably worthy than others, like Barbara Brown's wrenching "Can't Find No Happiness" and Jimmy Robins' "I Made It Over" (one of the only two singles he ever gave a five-star rating to as a reviewer), with its eerie organ-violin interplay.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/09/2004
Label: Kent Records Uk
UPC: 0029667223027
catalogNumber: 230
Rank: 48208


  1. Temptation 'Bout to Get Me
  2. I Believe She Will
  3. Wrong Too Long
  4. I Pity the Fool
  5. I Need You
  6. Just Loving You
  7. Slip Away
  8. Is It Me You Really Love
  9. The Day After Forever
  10. Giving Up
  11. I'm a Lonely Stranger
  12. I Love You
  13. The Tracks of My Tears
  14. You Got Me Diggin' You
  15. I Don't Care Anymore
  16. You Make Me Feel Good
  17. Can't Find No Happiness
  18. My Baby
  19. It's So Hard to Break a Habit
  20. Time Is on My Side
  21. This Heart Can't Take No More
  22. It Was Like a Nightmare
  23. The Dark End of the Street
  24. I Made It Over
  25. Don't Ever Leave Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hidle Brown Barnum   Conductor
Isaac Bolden   Conductor
Rene Hall   Conductor

Technical Credits

Gary "U.S." Bonds   Composer
Arthur Conley   Composer,Cover Photo
Otis Redding   Composer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Van McCoy   Composer
Jerry Williams   Composer
Lou Courtney   Producer
Dan Penn   Composer
Isaac Bolden   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Charles Chalmers   Composer,Producer
Tommy Cogbill   Producer
Marcus Daniel   Composer
Burgess Gardner   Arranger
Rene Hall   Arranger
Chris Hill   Author
E. Johnson   Composer
Deadric Malone   Composer
Chips Moman   Composer,Producer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Earl Nelson   Composer,Producer
Spooner Oldham   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer,Producer
Bob Relf   Producer
Jimmy Robins   Composer
Peter Shapiro   Author
Garry Sherman   Arranger
Andrew "Mike" Terry   Arranger
William Robinson   Composer
Tyrone Ashley   Producer
William Armstrong   Composer
Paolo Hewitt   Author
Fred "Sonny" Baker   Composer
Marvin Tarplin   Composer
Nick Brown   Author
Richard Knight   Composer,Producer
Philip Lloyd-Smee   Cover Art
Larry Banks   Composer
Robert Bateman   Producer
Marshall Boxley   Composer
Fred Bridges   Composer,Producer
James Diggs   Composer
Fred Dellar   Author
Robert Eaton   Composer,Producer
Wilbur Terrell   Composer
Dave Godin   Liner Notes,Annotation
Andy Kemp   Author
Charles Spencer   Author
Norman Meade   Composer
Roosevelt Matthews   Composer
Zerben R. Hicks   Composer
Willie Cooper   Composer
James Carmichael   Arranger
James F. Cullinan   Author
Edgar Campbell   Composer
Kevin McCardle   Liner Notes
Eddie Ray   Producer
Paul Kelly & the Stormwater Boys   Composer

Customer Reviews