Dark Was the Night

Dark Was the Night

by Blind Willie Johnson Blind Willie Johnson


Even in the blues, a style capable of wrenching unexplainable emotions from its audience, Blind Willie Johnson has few equals. With a voice capable of alternating effortlessly between sublime, trembling tenor and the sound of pure gravel, and unparalleled skill with the bottleneck (and knife), Johnson recorded 30 sides for Columbia (1927-1930) that stand as a high-water mark for both country blues and raw gospel. Given the fact that his entire output has been issued by both Yazoo and Columbia, it's difficult to imagine opting for this single disc. Anyone looking for more material will be forced to purchase sets with redundant selections. Still, if you are only seeking one collection, you cannot go wrong with Dark Was the Night. Included are both "God Moves on the Water" and "Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground," which are both utterly necessary, along with the classics "Praise God I'm Satisfied," "Jesus Make Up My Dying Bed," "John the Revelator," and 11 others. "God Moves" is a slide masterpiece in which Johnson's guitar interjections and responses become as captivating as his voice and a tale of the Titanic sinking at the will of God. "Dark Was the Night" is an otherworldly performance of gorgeously spun slide lines and Johnson's wordless moaning, aimed straight at the heart. Everything else on hand is nothing less than emotionally rich, consummately executed and spiritually charged blues at its very best.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972383927
catalogNumber: 723839


  1. If I Had My Way I'd Tear the Building Down
  2. Dark Was the Night (Cold Was the Ground)
  3. Lord, I Just Can't Keep from Crying
  4. Church, I'm Fully Saved Today
  5. Jesus Make up My Dying Bed
  6. Bye and Bye I'm Goin' to See the King
  7. Let Your Light Shine on Me
  8. John the Revelator
  9. I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole
  10. God Moves on the Water
  11. Trouble Will Soon Be Over
  12. Praise God I'm Satisfied
  13. Mother's Children Have a Hard Time
  14. It's Nobody's Fault But Mine
  15. The Soul of a Man
  16. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning

Album Credits

Customer Reviews