Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Curse of the Forgotten City (Emblem Island Series #2)

Curse of the Forgotten City (Emblem Island Series #2)

by Alex Aster

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $8.99 Save 17% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $8.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

In this pitch-perfect follow-up to Curse of the Night Witch, Tor, Engle and Melda must protect Emblem Island from a band of cursed pirates. Tor must use his newfound powers to help him and his friends find the infamous Pirate Pearl and gain control of the seas — but the journey is treacherous. This magical adventure is not to be missed.

The second book in a fast-paced series steeped in Colombian mythology and full of adventure, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and Percy Jackson. In this tale Tor, Engle, and Melda must stop a band of cursed pirates from taking over their home.

Tor is adjusting to life with the Night Witch's powers, with his best friends Engle and Melda by his side. But when a mysterious girl named Vesper washes ashore claiming a band of cursed pirates is on their way to Emblem Island, life changes fast.

Vesper is from an underwater city that was destroyed by the terrible Calavera pirates and she warns Tor that his village is next. To stop the pirates, Tor, Engle, and Melda join Vesper on the hunt for the famed Pirate's Pearl, an ancient relic that would give them complete control of the high seas.

But the journey is perilous, filled with legendary sea creatures that are determined to see them fail. To save his village and everyone he loves, Tor must accept his new abilities—and use them—in the race to find the pearl.

You'll love Curse of the Forgotten City if you're looking for:

  • Summer reading for tweens and teens ages 11-14
  • Multicultural books for children (especially Latinx books)
  • Stories based on fascinating mythology
  • Your next favorite fantasy series for girls ages 9-12

Praise for Curse of the Night Witch:

A Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer!

A Zibby Owens Summer Reading Pick on Good Morning America!

"Debut author Aster takes inspiration from Colombian folklore to craft a rousing series opener that's both fast-paced and thrilling. As her protagonists face off against a host of horrors, they learn the value of friendship and explore the possibility of changing one's fate in a world where destiny is predetermined."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

"Worthy of every magical ounce."—Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492697244
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 06/08/2021
Series: Emblem Island Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 428,070
Lexile: 730L (what's this?)
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Alex Aster is an author and graduate of The University of Pennsylvania, where she majored in English with a Concentration in Creative Writing. The Emblem Island series is inspired by the Latin American myths her Colombian grandmother told her as a child before bedtime. She lives in New York. Explore the world of Emblem Island at www.asterverse.com.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items