Free Shipping on Orders of $35 or More
Cuba: The Conversation Continues

Cuba: The Conversation Continues

by Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 25


Cuba: The Conversation Continues was already conceived as an ambitious dream come true for bandleader Arturo O'Farrill when a synchronous event occurred in history. The night after his band had performed at the U.S. Interest Section in Havana, Barack Obama announced the normalization of diplomatic relations with the island nation after more than 50 years. This double-length set was conceived as a way of furthering the musical and cultural conversation begun by Dizzy Gillespie and Chano Pozo in the 1940s. It features compositions by six American and four Cuban composers, played by 24 musicians. There are 21 producers, five videographers, and two photographers. Among the composers are the bandleader, Michele Rosewoman, Michel Herrera, Juan de la Cruz Antomarchi ("Coto"), and Dafnis Prieto. The first disc offers O'Farrill's four-movement "Afro Latin Jazz Suite," in tribute to his father's "Afro Cuban Jazz Suite" that featured soloist Charlie Parker. This one offers saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa in the premier role, and he doesn't disappoint as he moves through angular post-bop and salsa, African highlife, and progressive jazz. The third movement, "Adagio," is a lilting cha cha. Rosewoman's "Alabanza" is a gorgeous exercise in orchestral textures and rhythms (with the composer as a soloist) that inexorably connects Yoruban and Latin folk forms to post-bop articulations. On disc two, Herrera's "Just One Moment" is a grooving exercise in color and swing, while Coto's "El Bombom" is a driving, big band changüí with the man himself on tres and vocals. There are also wonderful solos from bassist Gregg August and trumpeter John Bailey. Earl McIntyre's "Second Line Soca (Brudda's Singh)," with vocalist Renee Manning, seamlessly melds Havana's drum chants and son-styled montunos with New Orleans jazz, funk, and Caribbean tropical grooves. O'Farrill has been on a creative tear over the last five years; Cuba: The Conversation Continues extends it with an inspired -- and perhaps career-defining -- album.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2015
Label: Motema Music
UPC: 0181212001792
catalogNumber: 179
Rank: 176595


Disc 1

  1. The Triumphant Journey
  2. The Afro Latin Jazz Suite, Movement I: Mother Africa
  3. The Afro Latin Jazz Suite, Movement II: All of the Americas
  4. The Afro Latin Jazz Suite, Movement III: Adagio
  5. The Afro Latin Jazz Suite, Movement IV: What Now?
  6. Guajira Simple
  7. Alabanza
  8. Blues Guaguancó

Disc 2

  1. Vaca Frita
  2. Just One Moment
  3. El Bombón
  4. Second Lina Soca
  5. There’s a Statue of Jose Martí in Central Park

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra   Primary Artist
Renée Manning   Vocals
Michele Rosewoman   Piano
Vince Cherico   Drums
Peter Brainin   Tenor Saxophone
Rudresh Mahanthappa   Alto Saxophone
Arturo O'Farrill   Piano
Frank Cohen   Trombone
DJ Logic   Turntables
Bobby Carcasses   Vocals
Cotó   Vocals,Tres
Jim Seeley   Trumpet
Alexis Bosch   Piano,Soloist
Adel Gonzales Gomez   Conga
Rafi Malkiel   Trombone,Euphonium
Ivan Renta   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Gregg August   Bass
Antonio Martinez Campos   Bata
John Bailey   Trumpet
Seneca Black   Trumpet
David DeJesus   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Tony Rosa   Bata
Roberto Quintero   Maracas
Alejandro Aviles   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Zack O’Farrill   Conductor,Drums
Adam O’Farrill   Trumpet
Michel Herrera   Alto Saxophone
Carlos "Hueso" Arcí   Guiro
Maria Gómez Matos   Guiro
Jesús Ricardo Anduz   Trumpet
Carlos Malsonaldo   Bata
Janson Marshall   Baritone Saxophone
Yasek Manzani   Trumpet
Antonio Duverger   Bongos,Marimbula

Technical Credits

Renée Manning   Composer
Michele Rosewoman   Composer
Jesse Cutler   Publicity
Earl McIntyre   Composer
Sarah Moore   Videography
Arturo O'Farrill   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Rebecca Meek   CD Package Design
Bobby Carcasses   Composer
Dafnis Prieto   Composer
Andreas Klein   Videography
David Garten   Cover Photo
Alexis Bosch   Composer
Orestes Aguila   Engineer
Gregg August   Arranger
Zack O’Farrill   Composer
Kabir Sehgal   Producer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Eric Oberstein   Producer
Matt Litwin   Senior Producer
Timo Vollbrecht   Videography
Michel Herrera   Composer
David Levanson   Senior Producer
Julian Weller   Producer
Jana La Sorte   Publicity
Michael Koziel   Videography,Senior Producer
Travis Brown   Senior Producer
Nona Olson   Publicity
Nicolas Rodriguez-Brizuela   Senior Producer
Gerald Dowie   Senior Producer
Ernesto Certto   Executive Producer
Simon Koziel   Senior Producer
Stephen Dembitzer   Senior Producer
Teresa Barger   Senior Producer
Valentino Carlotti   Senior Producer
William Carlotti   Senior Producer
Caitlin Levanson   Senior Producer

Customer Reviews