Cruisin' 1956

Cruisin' 1956


$11.58 $11.99 Save 3% Current price is $11.58, Original price is $11.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


An instantly recognizable bargain bin staple since the late '70s, thanks to their colorful comic book covers tracing the romantic life of an Everycouple named Peg and Eddie, the Cruisin' series of discs are built on a brilliant concept: each disc is devoted to a single year, with hit songs, local commercials, station jingles, and news headlines all presided over by a noted DJ from the era for a near-perfect re-creation of that year's AM radio experience. Cruisin' 1956 is hosted by Robin Seymour of WKMH in Dearborn, MI, whose cheerful, hail-fellow-well-met announcing style is representative of his era. (His custom show-opening theme, performed by Toronto vocal quartet the Four Lads, is a nice touch.) Although there are a few rockers, most notably classics by Chuck Berry, Little Richard, and Carl Perkins (not to mention Roy Orbison's Norman Petty-produced debut, "Ooby Dooby"), most of Cruisin' 1956 focuses on classic R&B and doo wop ballads. The Teen Queens' "Eddie My Love," the Mello Kings' "Tonite Tonite," the Dells' "Oh What a Night," and career-defining hits by the Platters and the Five Satins all make their appearances, with the Cadets' magnificent "Stranded in the Jungle" providing the comic relief. The extras include commercials for the Detroit Times, Merchants Green Stamps and Faygo root beer, as well as another Four Lads appearance, singing a Ford commercial to the tune of their hit "Standing on the Corner," several WKMH station jingles, and sports headlines.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/1993
Label: Increase Records
UPC: 0015668195623
catalogNumber: 1956
Rank: 62942

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Four Lads   Track Performer
Chuck Berry   Track Performer
Dells   Track Performer
Little Richard   Track Performer
Mello-Kings   Track Performer
Roy Orbison   Track Performer
Carl Perkins   Track Performer
Platters   Track Performer
Cadets   Track Performer
Five Satins   Track Performer
Teen Queens   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Little Richard   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer
Johnny Funches   Composer
Marvin Junior   Composer
Fred Parris   Composer
Jerry Hopkins   Liner Notes
Dorothy LaBostrie   Composer
Joe Lubin   Composer
Ernestine Smith   Composer
Dick Penner   Composer
Wade Moore   Composer
Alan Penner   Composer
Wayde Lee Moore   Composer
James Johnson   Composer

Customer Reviews