Crucial Slide Guitar Blues

Crucial Slide Guitar Blues


$10.30 $10.99 Save 6% Current price is $10.3, Original price is $10.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 29


Alligator has a justifiable reputation as one of the premier blues labels, and it draws on its recorded resources for this compilation. There's certainly no doubting the quality of the players and the music here, from Johnny Winter to the late Hound Dog Taylor, whose raw style sears the ears on Elmore James' "The Sun Is Shining." An older Corey Harris track reminds people that he's a remarkable acoustic slide player, and Sonny Landreth's "Taylor's Rock," from a Hound Dog Taylor tribute, features him playing no less than four parts, and still injecting plenty of grease. Australian Dave Hole remains a bit of a secret, but on the basis of this, deserves wider exposure. And if there's an odd man out here, it's A.C. Reed, who doesn't even play guitar. But he's joined by someone who does, Bonnie Raitt, and she lays down some wonderful work on "She's Fine." Elsewhere, there's Elvin Bishop, Luther Allison, and Lil' Ed among the suspects, with everyone making sure that the listener has a rockin' good time and confirming that the art of slide guitar is alive and well.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551011729
catalogNumber: 117
Rank: 69349


  1. It's My Life, Baby
  2. Never Miss Your Water
  3. She's Fine
  4. Give Me Back My Wig
  5. I'm Gone
  6. The Same Thing
  7. Taylor's Rock
  8. When the Church Burned Down
  9. She's Gone
  10. Jack O'Diamonds
  11. The Sun Is Shining
  12. Out of Here

Album Credits

Customer Reviews