by Herbie HancockHerbie Hancock


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


With the frenzied knocking of what sounds like a clock shop gone berserk, Crossings takes the Herbie Hancock Sextet even further into the electric avant-garde, creating its own idiom. Now, however, the sextet has become a septet with the addition of Dr. Patrick Gleeson on Moog synthesizer, whose electronic decorations, pitchless and not, give the band an even spacier edge. Again, there are only three tracks -- the centerpiece being Hancock's multi-faceted, open-structured suite in five parts called "Sleeping Giant." Nearly 25 minutes long yet amazingly cohesive, "Sleeping Giant" gathers a lot of its strength from a series of funky grooves -- the most potent of which explodes at the tail-end of Part Two -- and Hancock's on-edge Fender Rhodes electric piano solos anticipate his funk adventures later in the '70s. Bennie Maupin's "Quasar" pushes the session into extraterrestrial territory, dominated by Gleeson's wild Moog effects and trumpeter Eddie Henderson's patented fluttering air trumpet. Even stranger is Maupin's "Water Torture," which saunters along freely with splashes of color from Hancock's spooky Mellotron and fuzz-wah-pedaled Fender Rhodes piano, Gleeson's electronics, and a quintet of voices. Still a challenging sonic experience, this music (which can be heard on Warners' Mwandishi two-CD set) has yet to find its audience, though the electronica-minded youth ought to find it dazzling.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2001
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0093624754220
catalogNumber: 247542
Rank: 31743


  1. Sleeping Giant
  2. Quasar
  3. Water Torture

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herbie Hancock   Primary Artist,Percussion,Piano,Electric Piano,Mellotron
Billy Hart   Percussion,Drums
Bennie Maupin   Bass,Percussion,Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Piccolo,Soprano Saxophone
Julian Priester   Percussion,Trombone
Eddie Henderson   Percussion,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Scott Beach   Vocals,Voices
Victor Domagalski   Vocals
Patrick Gleeson   Synthesizer
Delta Horne   Vocals,Voices
Candy Love   Vocals,Voices
Victor Pantoja   Conga
Victor Pontoja   Conga
Sandra Stevens   Vocals,Voices
Buster Williams   Bass,Percussion,Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Fred Catero   Engineer,Remixing
Patrick Gleeson   Engineer
Rob Springett   Cover Painting
Stuart Nicholson   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews