by Johnny HodgesJohnny Hodges

CD(Special Edition / Digi-Pak / Spanish Import)

$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
4 New & Used Starting at $9.67


Johnny Hodges' small group dates for various Norman Granz-owned labels (Norgran, Clef, and Verve) pleased fans of Duke Ellington, due in part to the frequent presence of fellow sideman from the band. The 1955 Creamy session is no exception, with Clark Terry (trumpet and flügelhorn), baritone saxophonist Harry Carney, clarinetist Jimmy Hamilton (who doubles on tenor sax), and trombonist Lawrence Brown joining Hodges in the front line. The rhythm section consists of Billy Strayhorn, bassist Jimmy Woode, and drummer Sonny Greer. In addition to a long ballad medley with individual features for each player (except for Greer), the remainder of the date is devoted to originals by Hodges or Strayhorn, along with "Scufflin'," an impromptu-sounding swinger credited to the alto saxophonist's wife, Cue Hodges. While there are no real surprises anywhere on this record, it is well worth acquiring.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2019
Label: Essential Jazz Class
UPC: 8436559467209
catalogNumber: 9467209
Rank: 48826


  1. Honey Bunny
  2. Passion Flower
  3. Pretty Little Girl
  4. No Use Kickin'
  5. Whispering
  6. Tenderly
  7. Don't Take Your Love from Me
  8. Prelude to a Kiss
  9. But Not for Me
  10. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  11. Passion Flower
  12. Soufflin'

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews